586,121 active members*
3,758 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > X9 Optirough and Area roughing questions

X9 Optirough and Area roughing questions

Hello all,

I am just getting started with X9 after having it a few months now and I'm having a couple strange problems. First, I realize I should have proper training (and it's coming) but I believe this is probably a simple question to resolve.

I'm using X9 pretty much "out of the box" without messing with too many settings or configurations until I know what I'm doing but I believe I might have messed with some of these settings to fix my problem:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MC-CONFIGURATION-TOLERANCES.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	55.9 KB 
ID:	316454

The problem is that when using the 3D toolpaths (in this instance OptiRough and Area Roughing) I can't seem to get my depths to "stick". For instance when trying to rough out the following part at a depth of 0.240" it always stops just short:

Code:
    N52370 X-.2287 Y-.2933
    N52380 Y-.3119
    N52390 Y-.3177 Z-.2302 F21.4
    N52400 X-.2284 Y-.3206 Z-.2304
    N52410 X-.2275 Y-.3233 Z-.2306
    N52420 X-.2261 Y-.3258 Z-.2308
    N52430 X-.2229 Y-.3297 Z-.2311
    N52440 X-.2192 Y-.3331 Z-.2315
    N52450 X-.215 Y-.3359 Z-.2318
    N52460 X-.2105 Y-.3381 Z-.2321
    N52470 X-.2058 Y-.3396 Z-.2325
    N52480 X-.2008 Y-.3405 Z-.2328
    N52490 X-.1958 Y-.3406 Z-.2332
    N52500 X-.1908 Y-.34 Z-.2335
    N52510 X-.186 Y-.3387 Z-.2339
    N52520 X-.1814 Y-.3368 Z-.2342
    N52530 X-.1771 Y-.3342 Z-.2345
    N52540 X-.1748 Y-.3324 Z-.2347
    N52550 X-.1727 Y-.3305 Z-.2349
    N52560 X-.1439 Y-.302 Z-.2377
    N52570 X-.1397 Y-.2974 Z-.2381
    N52580 X-.1359 Y-.2924 Z-.2385
    N52590 X-.1325 Y-.2871 Z-.239
    N52600 X-.1296 Y-.2816 Z-.2394
    N52610 X-.1272 Y-.2758 Z-.2398   <----
    N52620 X-.1236 Y-.2659
    N52630 X-.1198 Y-.256