586,123 active members*
3,237 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > ER Tool holder as a Spindle Solution

ER Tool holder as a Spindle Solution

I don't own a milling machine, but I would like one. I am also a complete Noob learning from YouTube making little money sitting in a cube.

I have two drill presses, a Skil 10" and a cheap Harbor Freight 8". I've taken apart the cheap one to examine it as it is of no use to me anymore. I've decided to turn it into a lightweight milling machine and at some point in the future turn it into a CNC or chuck it for a real one (NPI). I already have a 3/4hp DC motor I salvaged from an old treadmill and I also purchased a 120v PWM motor speed controller.

My idea is to replace the existing spindle inside the quill with a beefy ER20 tool holder and swap out the bearings as well.

I bought an 3/4" diameter ER tool holder from a US seller on eBay at a price I couldn't resist:

DZ Brand 3 4" ER20 150 Collet Extension | eBay

The existing spindle is 12mm and the quill housing has an inside diameter of 32mm. The quill has two 6201 bearing (12mmx32mmx10mm). I couldn't find a bearing matching the same OD with a 3/4" ID. The closet fit I could find was a 20mm x 32mm x 7mm from AST:

71804C Angular Contact Ball Bearings | AST Bearings

I have a few questions.

First, is there a solution available for shimming the shaft diameter from 3/4 (19.05mm) to 20mm? I haven't seen any specific parts for this. If there are no solutions, I can always exchange the tool holder for a 20mm one, which is even beefier or just buy another one of the correct size. As for the missing 3mm from the width of the bearing, I am considering using thrust washers, thrust bearings and or shaft collars to make up the 3mm difference. Will this work? Is there a bearing bore adapter?