586,058 active members*
4,208 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Robust CNC Kit

Hello all,

Great community here, first time really posting. Anyways I am a high school engineering teacher. I am currently looking to expand our equipment and am investigating building a CNC Router Table with students as a project. This would not be our first CNC, we currently have a ShopBot Alpha with a router, putting a spindle upgrade on it this year. We also have 2 Haas TM-2P mills and 2 ST-10 Lathes.

I am in need of a machine that is capable of cutting the usual MDF, Plywood, but also 1/2" polycarbonate and aluminum plate as well. That being said, I am looking for setups that can either come in 4X4 or 4X8 orientations. I have seen some options out there but would like some input from others who have experience with the DIY kit end of them.

I have no problem using aluminum extrusion, however would prefer something steel for rigidity, also looking at servo drive and most defiantly a spindle.

If you have any suggestions on what to check out I would greatly appreciate it. I know that not every company has a kit of everything that I am looking for out there and I am open to suggestions on what to pair with what.

Thank you in advance for any and all feedback.

Re: Robust CNC Kit

The Platform CNC Router is in my opinion an outstanding design and is sold as a kit. It uses steppers and not servo's and its only 48x30. But I think the documentation it comes with it is very good. Probably better than a commercial machine and if you plan on teaching with it that could be a very big asset. So in that respect it might appeal to you. Its a fantastic DIY design in my opinion. I think Brian has won a few Maker Fare awards...

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/diy-cn...53486-cnc.html

Re: Robust CNC Kit

Sounds like a pretty incredible high school shop already.