586,036 active members*
3,817 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Can a scanned pencil drawing be used?

Question Can a scanned pencil drawing be used?

I would like to scan a pencil drawing into a 2D CAD program. Can this be done? I'm brand new to CAD and I would like to start off using my drawing if possible.

I have not purchased any software yet and I'm considering the Romaxx desktop CNC Router for prototyping and hobby use.

Thanks, :drowning:
    Bill J.
    Knoxville, TN

Yes it is very possible. Many programs can take an image straight to a model or a g-code. It is much, much easier if you import the scan into a photo program like Adobe or Corel and drop it to 1-bit mode (B&W only, no shading) first. It is just way easier to clean up first in a program meant for it than trying to mess with the chaos of a raw scan straight to CAM software. Otherwise you will get the darker pencil streaks deeper than the lighter ones - everything will be a wildly textured and uneven gradient if you don't do that first with scans, especially pencil.)
    This is of course assuming you are not going for a true 3D artistic textured look, but a more of a standard 2.5D path. As an aside, if you ever get bored and want to try something new, pencil sketches reduced to 4-bit or 8-bit images can make some neat intaglio-style hand-engraved looking output if you play around with it and cut with a very narrow, small included angle bit.
    I help my friend cheat and cut his woodblocks using photoshop and this trick.

HI Stepper, can you be a bit more elaborate about the process with photoshop as I have tried in the past but unsuccessful.
    regards
    Martin G

You might try using inkscape to turn your scan to a vector
    format. Its free and quite nice.

John

I'll give it a try and Thanks

Thanks Stepper Monkey,