586,443 active members*
2,834 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > Okuma millac 4va. Machine ready issues!!!

Okuma millac 4va. Machine ready issues!!!

Hi everyone.

I'm new to the whole CNC world. In the past I would make everything by hand with no computer assisted machines. A buddy of mine who has been a CNC operator for 10 years has recently introduced me into the whole CNC world and I decided to buy one. Again I am new to all this so please go easy on me.

The machine is a 85 Okuma & Howa Millac 4va. Before I purchased the machine the seller ran it for me to make sure that everything worked. The only thing that didn't work was the tool changer. For some reason it doesn't pick up on any of the commands, but we'll leave that for another day. I just finished wiring my garage and decided to power everything up.

I'm going to start off by telling you guys how I have everything wired. From my main service panel I have 2 gauge cable feeding 220 V to my garage and into a 70amp breaker. From there the 220 V goes into a 3 phase rotary converter to generate my third phase. From the converter I have my three phases coming out and into a 60 amp breaker. From that breaker I have 6 gauge cable running to my CNC for power. Just so you know my rotary converter a a 25hp unit.

Now here's my problem...
    I turn on the machine and push the machine ready button. I then send all the axis to home (x, y & z). A few minutes later the machine ready light turns off and my hydraulics turn off. I go to the service panel on the machine and noticed there is a relay that is pushed out (MS1). I push the relay back in, go over to the control panel, push in the machine ready button and the machine ready works again. Then a few minutes later the machine ready light goes out again and my hydraulic stop working again.

Again I am very new to this so I apologize if I sound like an idiot. Any help would be greatly appreciated.