586,069 active members*
3,619 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Strange router noise, please help!

Hi everyone,

(Go easy on me here, I'm a rookie)

I bought a Chinese 3040 machine some time last year and have upgraded it to a fairly decent CNC router. I swapped out the drivers for 6460 drivers from James Newton (massmind.org) and ditched the spindle for a Makita RT0701C router (1.25hp). The machine moves quick and cuts accurately. Lately though, I've noticed bizarre noises coming from the router when making cuts. It doesn't happen all the time, which I find odd:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95VR...m-upload_owner

Here are the specs of the job:

Spindle speed: typically between 3-5 on the speed dial, depending on tool chatter
    Feed rate: 1500mm/min
    Depth of cut: 2mm
    Width of cut: variable...the tool path was programmed in Fusion. I believe the max stepover is something like 4mm.
    Tool: 6.35mm downcut spiral bit, solid carbide
    Stock: Soft maple. But this happens in every wood I've cut lately...poplar, beech, birch, walnut, and soft maple.

I took the router apart to see if the bearing was the issue. I don't notice anything wrong with the bearing at the top or the bottom of the router. Both seem to spin freely. Not super fast, but there does not appear to be any resistance.

I get this noise at all router speed levels...it gets worse when the speed is slower. So I'm wondering if 1.25hp isn't enough to make a 2mm depth of cut? Or am I trying to cut too fast? Everywhere I read says to basically fly through wood, it's the best thing for your tool. Maybe the router speed needs to be on full (6 on the speed dial)(30kRPM) the whole time?