586,493 active members*
1,505 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > MadCAM > MadCam post process not generating tool change

MadCam post process not generating tool change

Hi,
    Pretty newbie here, I'm trying to post process a job with 4 toolpaths and 3 tool changes. For some reason MadCam is not generating the tool change command between toolpaths. M6? I think. When I run the simulator all looks good but when I cut air the machine just continues without the stop to allow for a bit change. The file looks like there is no command for a tool change. Recalculated a couple of times and redid the complete tool paths with same result.Any thought?

Thanks!

Re: MadCam post process not generating tool change

Btw I'm using 64 bit Rhino and the MadCam plugin. I run Mach 3 on my machine. I have a 3 axis Raptor.

Ok tried to watch a couple of post videos on Utube, verified that all my tools were save, checked the options box to "save each toolpath in cutter tool child layers". No Luck, I noticed that the post file states "Tool changes: not specified in post processor"

My machine does not use tools changes so I do not know much about it , so hopefully Dan or Joakim chimes in here soon .

But are you sure you have the correct post prosessor selected for your machine , and you also have the option as a temp fix to place them manually until you get it solved

Thanks Gregore,
    I have 3 Axis machine and Mach3 chosen for my post processor so I think it's correct. I've created multi tool/ toolpath programs previously and its worked, I'm thinking I may have an issue with my model? The last thing I tried last night was too save all of my tools that I have created in a separate folder on my desktop. I had read a thread about permissions to the tool folder causing issues but it didn't work.