586,036 active members*
3,672 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    143

    Mach3 spindle control issue

    Hey guys, I'm having a weird problem.

    I don't know if this is a g-code issue, or a Mach3 issue.

    Whenever my operations begin, Mach3 moves my tool down a bit, then stops for about 2-3 seconds, then moves to the first cutting location. This is fine, but I'm wondering why the machine stops for 2-3 seconds. When this happens, it looks as if it's trying to start my spindle (spindle CW(F5) flashing) for about 2-3 seconds, then the machine goes on about it's business.

    I have checked in the settings and did just about everything I can think of to disable the spindle control, but the machine still hesitates for 2-3 seconds. Is this a g-code problem or am I not checking some box properly within Mach3?

    I was also having an issue where it would try to change tools before starting the operation, but I fixed that by disabling M6 during the post process through Fusion 360 (which I use to create my g-code).

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Mach3 spindle control issue

    Config >Ports and Pins > Spindle > Spindle delays maybe?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    143

    Re: Mach3 spindle control issue

    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    Config >Ports and Pins > Spindle > Spindle delays maybe?
    At the moment, they're all set to 1 second. The first value was set to 5 seconds, but I changed it to 1. Should I try different values?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1267

    Re: Mach3 spindle control issue

    If the delay value is set to 1, Mach3 will wait for 1 second after the "spindle on" command, even if the spindle is disabled elsewhere in the config. To eliminate the delay, you need to enter 0 (who would have guessed?).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Mach3 spindle control issue

    Can you post some of your g-code?
    Does it have a G4 in it?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    143

    Re: Mach3 spindle control issue

    Here is the first bit of g-code from one of my ops.


    Code:
    (PROFILES)
    (T1  D=0.1875 CR=0. - ZMIN=-0.21 - FLAT END MILL)
    G90 G94 G91.1 G40 G49 G17
    G20
    G28 G91 Z0.
    G90
    
    (PROFILES)
    M5
    M9
    T1
    S24000 M3
    G54
    M9
    G0 X22.5132 Y-9.6716
    G43 Z0.8 H1
    Z0.21
    G1 Z0.0494 F55.
    Z0.02
    X16.9616 Y-8.8102 Z0.0093
    G2 X16.8543 Y-8.7557 Z0.0091 R0.1937
    G1 X16.1996 Y-8.101 Z0.0074
    G2 X16.1428 Y-7.964 Z0.0071 R0.1937
    G1 Y-7.2554 Z0.0057
    G2 X16.2366 Y-7.1617 Z0.0054 R0.0937
    G1 X26.2366 Z-0.0135
    G2 X26.3096 Y-7.1967 Z-0.0137 R0.0937
    X26.3303 Y-7.2554 Z-0.0138 R0.0937
    G1 Y-12.4054 Z-0.0236
    G2 X26.1366 Y-12.5992 Z-0.0241 R0.1938
    G1 X23.8109 Z-0.0285
    G2 X23.6254 Y-12.4612 Z-0.029 R0.1937
    G1 X22.8011 Y-9.7198 Z-0.0344
    G3 X22.7961 Y-9.7155 Z-0.0345 R0.0062
    G1 X16.9616 Y-8.8102 Z-0.0457
    G2 X16.8543 Y-8.7557 Z-0.0459 R0.1937
    G1 X16.1996 Y-8.101 Z-0.0476
    G2 X16.1428 Y-7.964 Z-0.0479 R0.1937
    G1 Y-7.2554 Z-0.0493
    G2 X16.2366 Y-7.1617 Z-0.0496 R0.0937
    G1 X26.2366 Z-0.0685
    G2 X26.3096 Y-7.1967 Z-0.0687 R0.0937
    X26.3303 Y-7.2554 Z-0.0688 R0.0937
    G1 Y-12.4054 Z-0.0786
    G2 X26.1366 Y-12.5992 Z-0.0791 R0.1938
    G1 X23.8109 Z-0.0835
    G2 X23.6254 Y-12.4612 Z-0.084 R0.1937
    G1 X22.8011 Y-9.7198 Z-0.0894
    G3 X22.7961 Y-9.7155 Z-0.0895 R0.0062
    G1 X16.9616 Y-8.8102 Z-0.1007
    G2 X16.8543 Y-8.7557 Z-0.1009 R0.1937
    G1 X16.1996 Y-8.101 Z-0.1026
    G2 X16.1428 Y-7.964 Z-0.1029 R0.1937
    G1 Y-7.2554 Z-0.1043
    G2 X16.2366 Y-7.1617 Z-0.1046 R0.0937
    G1 X26.2366 Z-0.1235
    G2 X26.3096 Y-7.1967 Z-0.1237 R0.0937
    X26.3303 Y-7.2554 Z-0.1238 R0.0937
    G1 Y-12.4054 Z-0.1336
    G2 X26.1366 Y-12.5992 Z-0.1341 R0.1938
    G1 X23.8109 Z-0.1385
    G2 X23.6254 Y-12.4612 Z-0.139 R0.1937
    G1 X22.8011 Y-9.7198 Z-0.1444
    G3 X22.7961 Y-9.7155 Z-0.1445 R0.0062
    G1 X16.9616 Y-8.8102 Z-0.1557
    G2 X16.8543 Y-8.7557 Z-0.1559 R0.1937
    G1 X16.1996 Y-8.101 Z-0.1576
    G2 X16.1428 Y-7.964 Z-0.1579 R0.1937
    G1 Y-7.2554 Z-0.1593
    G2 X16.2366 Y-7.1617 Z-0.1596 R0.0937
    G1 X26.2366 Z-0.1785
    G2 X26.3096 Y-7.1967 Z-0.1787 R0.0937
    X26.3303 Y-7.2554 Z-0.1788 R0.0937
    G1 Y-12.4054 Z-0.1886
    G2 X26.1366 Y-12.5992 Z-0.1891 R0.1938
    G1 X23.8109 Z-0.1935
    G2 X23.6254 Y-12.4612 Z-0.194 R0.1937
    G1 X22.8011 Y-9.7198 Z-0.1994
    G3 X22.7961 Y-9.7155 Z-0.1995 R0.0062
    G1 X17.3019 Y-8.863 Z-0.21
    X16.9616 Y-8.8102
    G2 X16.8543 Y-8.7557 R0.1937
    G1 X16.1996 Y-8.101
    G2 X16.1428 Y-7.964 R0.1937
    G1 Y-7.2554
    G2 X16.2366 Y-7.1617 R0.0937
    G1 X26.2366
    G2 X26.3303 Y-7.2554 R0.0937
    G1 Y-12.4054
    G2 X26.1366 Y-12.5992 R0.1938
    G1 X23.8109
    G2 X23.6254 Y-12.4612 R0.1937
    G1 X22.8011 Y-9.7198
    G3 X22.7961 Y-9.7155 R0.0062
    G1 X17.3019 Y-8.863
    G0 Z0.4
    X13.9414 Y-7.1692
    Z0.21

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1267

    Re: Mach3 spindle control issue

    This is where your 2-second delay comes from:

    M5 - 1-second spindle off delay
    M9
    T1
    S24000 M3 - 1-second spindle on delay

    Set both delays to 0 in Mach3 config if you don't need them (I presume you turn the spindle on manually?).
    Also, why do you even need M5 there?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    143

    Re: Mach3 spindle control issue

    Quote Originally Posted by CitizenOfDreams View Post
    This is where your 2-second delay comes from:

    M5 - 1-second spindle off delay
    M9
    T1
    S24000 M3 - 1-second spindle on delay

    Set both delays to 0 in Mach3 config if you don't need them (I presume you turn the spindle on manually?).
    Also, why do you even need M5 there?
    Thanks, I'll do that.

    I use Fusion 360 to create all my g-code, so Fusion is putting that in there. There may be a setting in the post process or CAM setup within Fusion that I need to check or uncheck.

Similar Threads

  1. MACH3 SPINDLE CONTROL - CONTROL BOARD HELP
    By tuning_cnc in forum CNC Plasma / Oxy Fuel Cutting Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2016, 04:39 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2014, 01:27 PM
  3. Issue with spindle RPM control
    By GTFreeFlyer in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-24-2013, 11:08 PM
  4. New NM-145 arrival spindle control issue
    By rpovey in forum Novakon
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 01:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •