586,058 active members*
4,457 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Totally Lost

Unhappy Totally Lost

Im very new to this so please bare with me.

I recently went out and purchesed and pretty good laptop thinking that i will be able to just stick a usb to a r232 with a parrallel extention from the the lap top to the machine, what a huge mistake that was. when i first tried send a program i recieved an error stating that it could not find Com 3 so i installed some drivers and now i just use com 1, now when i hit send it says it is sending then it just seems like it locks up. The machine doesnt seem to be detecting that the laptop is connected to it. this may be just a problem within my setting but i really have no idea. so here i am, spent all this money on a laptop and very frustrated. I am using Mastercam X, Machine is a Takisawa Turning Center with Fanuc MCU. I have been going to school for programming and believe im ready to start some simple programs and my work. this damn connection this is hold me back from my raise damnit., lol. any help is apreciated. thanks

First you have to make sure that data is comming out of the USB/com port, this is where a break-out box is a must for working with RS232.
    Also make sure the PC side is set to software H.S. & Hardware Handshake off.
    On this set up I would tend to use a three wire cable and jumper out the H.W. Hansdhake both ends.
    On 9pin jumper 1-4-6 & 7-8 on 25p 6-8-20 & 4-5
    Use connection only from 9p to 25p 2 -2, 3-3, 5-7.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

yea i guess i really do need to make sure the data is comming out but i really dont have a way to do it. The end of the RS232 has a little LED light. but i have never seen it light up. so maybe nothing is going thru it.

Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post