586,396 active members*
3,125 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > Bridgeport - Interact 1 MK2 - Abnormal Behavior

Exclamation Bridgeport - Interact 1 MK2 - Abnormal Behavior

Hi,

I recently aquired a Bridgeport Iteract 1 Mk2 with TNC 2500 control and am running the machine through a Phase converter (3 HP) + Step-Up transformer (15KVA). The machine is powered for 460 Volts.

Description of problems:

1. The Joysticks do not work in manual mode, yet the handweel moves all axis just fine. (I am willing to live this as long as I can run the program fine which I haven't been able to test yet)
    2. The machine runs for 15-30 minutes and then stops with an error "Spindle Moter Thermostat"

I am new to CNC machines but have heard that these machines are very power sensitive. So I ran a test on the power output from the transformer and I get the following voltages:

H1 - H2 = 445 Volts
    H2 - H3 = 467 Volts
    H1 - H3 = 467 Volts

I spoke with the technician at Gentec Motors (Transformer company) and they told me that my phase converter is not balanced for a CNC machine. They recommend that I upgrade my 3 HP phase converter to a 10 HP minimum converter.

Can someone please provide any help or suggestion to what I should do. I just bought a $800 transformer and would not like to spend another $800 for a new converter unless I really need to. Also, I don't even know if a new phase converter will fix the problem.

Thanks,

Pali

I thought the interact 1 Mk 2 had a seven HP motor. That would make your phase converter a bit undersized. Check to see if I am correct.