586,096 active members*
3,431 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

solid state relay question

I read somewhere on this site that you should wire in a diode when using a relay. I want to use a Grayhill 70s2 solid state relay to avtivate a 24v pneumatic valve from one of my parallel port pins. The info for the relay says that the input is optically isolated from the output, to protect from "transients". Do I still need the diode?

solenoid voltage spikes

I'm new to milling but I have designed and installed a lot of computer control systems.
    So here are some basics. Whenever a control voltage to a coil, such as the solenoid on your valve, is turned off the collapsing magnetic field will generate a high voltage spike of oposite polarity. This spike will usually exceed the safe operating voltage of your control relay. So it is always a good idea to protect from it. If your solid state relay switches a DC voltage a properly sized diode will do the trick. The diode should be placed as close to the solenoid as is practical. Just to give it an extra instant to do its job. It also needs to be connected so that it doesn't conduct when the control voltage is applied to the coil but only the spike which will be oposite polarity of the control voltage.
    Hope this helps.

Thanks Bill,
    Just to make sure I understand you correctly, I should wire it like the picture?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails diode.jpg  

Just a couple of points till Bill gets back to you, are you sure the printer port will be able to drive the SSR? check the specs, as they usually require about 8~20ma, also is the 70S2 a DC output type? The ones I have come across are AC output.
    Also the diode needs to be corrected, leave the end connected to the Solenoid and connect the other end to common, then connect directly from SSR out to Solenoid. ( diode + and SSR out connected to Solenoid ).
    The diode will then be in parallel to the Solenoid.
    Al.