586,111 active members*
3,148 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    214

    Turning Center G40 G41 and G42

    Please help.

    Is there any rule to apply when programming Tool Nose Radius Compensation on Turning Centers to avoid alarms in the beginning and when turning compensation off.

    Thank you in advance.

    George

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    219
    Quote Originally Posted by jorgehrr View Post
    Please help.

    Is there any rule to apply when programming Tool Nose Radius Compensation on Turning Centers to avoid alarms in the beginning and when turning compensation off.

    Thank you in advance.

    George
    Turn it on with a G01 move to the start point of the cut.

    After you are done you have to feed out of the part on a G01, and turn it off on the same line.

    For example
    G0X2.1
    G01 X-.03F.006
    G0W.05X1.75
    G42G01Z0.
    G3X2.0Z-.125R.125
    G40G01X2.1
    G28U0.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    ... And be sure your linear move is larger than the R value in your offset.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    214
    Thank you guys -

    Nice and Simple.


    :cheers:

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4

    Are the anything wrong?

    N10G0G90T1
    M6
    M1
    M53 (rotary table unclamp)
    N100G0G90G54X-.04Y1.04A0.S300M3T2(T2 next Tool)(We are running imperial only, so machine ist set)
    M54(rotary table clamp)
    (T1=1.0 CARBIDE ENDMILL OR INSERT CUTTER W/.250 RAD.)
    (D40=1/2 TOOL DIA.)
    G43H1Z2.5M8
    Z1.34
    G1Z.735F20.
    G41D40Y.49F1.1(Problem in this line machine moves both axis x&Y,did not do it befor)
    X13.11
    G40Y1.04
    G0Z2.5

    We did run the program for 2 weeks,it was fine.But then the control started to comp. in two axis y&z, so we crashed the Machine,So called Fanuc support,they told as to wipe out the control(s-ram*****)We did that, it did fixed problem with z axis,but it still comp.x&y(did not do it before) we did try to add g40 in line n100 and it seemed like it took care of it,but not for long(for 3parts)The only thing fanuc guys told me(your prog. is wrong).Control we using is fanuc io-mc on Amera-Seiki machine.we have 3 machines same brand, same control hte other two doing ok. Any help would be great. Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by kolodok View Post
    N10G0G90T1
    M6
    M1
    M53 (rotary table unclamp)
    N100G0G90G54X-.04Y1.04A0.S300M3T2
    M54(rotary table clamp)
    (T1=1.0 CARBIDE ENDMILL OR INSERT CUTTER W/.250 RAD.)
    (D40=1/2 TOOL DIA.)
    G43H1Z2.5M8
    Z1.34
    G1Z.735F20.
    G41D1Y.49F1.1
    X13.11
    G40Y1.04
    G0Z2.5

    We did run the program for 2 weeks,it was fine.But then the control started to comp. in two axis y&z, so we crashed the Machine,So called Fanuc support,they told as to wipe out the control(s-ram*****)We did that, it did fixed problem with z axis,but it still comp.x&y(did not do it before) we did try to add g40 in line n100 and it seemed like it took care of it,but not for long(for 3parts)The only thing fanuc guys told me(your prog. is wrong).Control we using is fanuc io-mc on Amera-Seiki machine.we have 3 machines same brand, same control hte other two doing ok. Any help would be great. Thanks

    Have you tried a G42 instead of the G41 not sure maybe that has some thing to do with it not real sure. The program looks ok, are you sure your indexer is not the cause????
    individual who perceives a solution and is willing to take command. Very often, that individual is crazy.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by kolodok View Post
    N10G0G90T1
    M6
    M1
    M53 (rotary table unclamp)
    N100G0G90G54X-.04Y1.04A0.S300M3T2
    M54(rotary table clamp)
    (T1=1.0 CARBIDE ENDMILL OR INSERT CUTTER W/.250 RAD.)
    (D40=1/2 TOOL DIA.)
    G43H1Z2.5M8
    Z1.34
    G1Z.735F20.
    G41D40Y.49F1.1
    X13.11
    G40Y1.04
    G0Z2.5
    If this really is the beginning of your program, you never specify metric or inch (G21 or G20). (.735 mm is a whole lot less than .735 inches) Whatever is left over from the previous program it will still be stored.

    Another thing noticed, what's that T2 hanging out on N100? It won't do anything without M06, but just curious if it was supposed to be used.

    And another note, you need a G40 before an M30 or you'll get an error. Not sure if any of that helped you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by jmagnuson View Post
    If this really is the beginning of your program, you never specify metric or inch (G21 or G20). (.735 mm is a whole lot less than .735 inches) Whatever is left over from the previous program it will still be stored.

    Another thing noticed, what's that T2 hanging out on N100? It won't do anything without M06, but just curious if it was supposed to be used.

    And another note, you need a G40 before an M30 or you'll get an error. Not sure if any of that helped you.
    i set my machine to inches one time so i dont have to tell it every program. and the T2 is just calling the tool up and getting it ready for the tool chang at the end of that tool. and i think you can have the G40 wear it is "i cant realy remember" i put it in the first line of the tool if i use it.
    individual who perceives a solution and is willing to take command. Very often, that individual is crazy.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by jackson View Post
    i set my machine to inches one time so i dont have to tell it every program. and the T2 is just calling the tool up and getting it ready for the tool chang at the end of that tool. and i think you can have the G40 wear it is "i cant realy remember" i put it in the first line of the tool if i use it.
    I only mentioned inches and metric thinking maybe you had done another job in between in metric which would explain why the other machines were working.

    The program seems fine then. I'm used to Haas where it looks ahead for the next tool and changes the tool turret accordingly.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    586
    is your Haas a side mount tool changer????
    individual who perceives a solution and is willing to take command. Very often, that individual is crazy.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    Comped in Y&Z? Sounds like G19 might have been active. I don't see a G17 in your program anywhere...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Question is does it have to comp. x&y in this case?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by kolodok View Post
    Question is does it have to comp. x&y in this case?
    G17 X Y plane, G18 Z X plane, G19 Y Z plane,

    not sure in this case you need a comp, Have you checked the 4th axis to make sure it didnt get bumped, it may need realligned
    individual who perceives a solution and is willing to take command. Very often, that individual is crazy.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    34
    so, your at Y1.04 when this program starts?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    Your original post said:

    "But then the control started to comp. in two axis y&z"

    Is this what happened?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    9
    hi, kolodok

    It seems your program is wrong! if you are taking internal cut

    your program:

    N10G0G90T1 G40 (should be here)
    M6
    M1
    M53 (rotary table unclamp)
    N100G0G90G54X-.04Y1.04A0.S300M3T2(T2 next Tool)(We are running imperial only, so machine ist set)
    M54(rotary table clamp)
    (T1=1.0 CARBIDE ENDMILL OR INSERT CUTTER W/.250 RAD.)
    (D40=1/2 TOOL DIA.)
    G43H1Z2.5M8
    Z1.34
    G1Z.735F20.
    G41D40Y.49F1.1(Problem in this line machine moves both axis x&Y,did not do it befor)
    X13.11
    G40Y1.04 (this should be minus value)
    G0Z2.5

    Note you have commanded Y.49 movement, its less then your cutter of 1/2, its not possible....... or you are moving in Y+ direction (right!) to take cut using compensatation G41 and after moving in x13.11 you are leaving compensatation G40 and Y+ 1.04 this is wrong.... you must have to leave cutter compensatation in Y- direction ....
    so i can say that it should be in Y-1.04 .... then it will works ok...... this all are my daughts ok....

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4396
    Don't forget to add the tool nose radius size in the Offset Geometry as well as the tool tip designation 0-9

    tip 3 for OD's tools G42 turning toward the spindle
    tip 2 for ID's G41 boring toward the spindle

    Cheers!!!!!!
    Toby D.
    "Imagination and Memory are but one thing, but for divers considerations have divers names"
    Schwarzwald

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

    www.refractotech.com

Similar Threads

  1. Spectralight turning center
    By roni21702 in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2010, 04:21 PM
  2. Looking for help with Okuma turning center.
    By shawn45223 in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-08-2007, 12:06 AM
  3. Turning center sale
    By bdrmachine in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2007, 02:23 AM
  4. Threading on turning center
    By dholt in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-20-2006, 08:05 PM
  5. SpectraLIGHT Turning Center -questions???
    By nuar in forum Mini Lathe
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-2005, 10:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •