586,067 active members*
4,904 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > 4th Axis Posting Problem
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    51

    4th Axis Posting Problem

    I am stuck on this one - V28 4th axis standard ..... Predator post processor and Fadal Machine ..... and this is the first time I have attempted to create a 4 axis program on it.

    The problem started with the post processors program output not containing any 4th axis content at all .... apart from the very first 4th axis move to get to its "start" angle.
    I have corrected several 3 axis posting errors in the past using the debugger/Notepad routine without too much trouble and tried to do the same this time round.

    The first line that does produce an output is the long startup string (line 2 in the post processor program) which lists " n, output_rotary_angle " as the command that produces the output at program start.

    But the problem appears to be on line 55 which says -

    55. Line feed move XYZ.
    n,feed_move,x_f,y_f,z_f,feed_rate

    Simple ... no A command in the line .... but it is in line 54 which is - Line rapid XYZ move ..... and includes - " rotary_xy_angle " .
    So I put that string in with the rest on line 55 ..... still no output.

    After several tries I found that putting in " n,feed_move,x_f,y_f,z_f,rotary_angle,feed_rate " does give me the ANGLE part of the out command (plus the + or - sign if i mess with the settings on line 440 - rotary output options) but no axis letter (A) is output.

    Thought it would be a simple fix to get that drive letter part displayed on the output .... but despite spending several hours trying all sorts of combinations and option choices to fix it .... I've had no luck.
    I have drenched back and forth through all the command code looking for the answer ..... but it eludes me.
    In line 690 is - Prefix for Z Rotation Move? "A"
    line 699 - Prefix for Tool Angle (variable mtool_angle)? "A"
    line 722 - Primary Rotary prefix string? "A"

    And a big one on line 2001 & 2002 -

    Recompute new A axis to include direction of motion
    Dim OLDVAL
    Dim NEWVAL
    NEWVAL = MILL_GetRotaryAngle()
    OLDVAL = MILL_GetDoubleMemoryLoc(1)
    If NEWVAL < OLDVAL Then
    MILL_SetReturnString("A" & Round(-NEWVAL, 4))
    End If
    If NEWVAL > OLDVAL Then
    MILL_SetReturnString("A" & Round(NEWVAL, 4))
    End If
    Call MILL_SetDoubleMemoryLoc(1, NEWVAL)
    '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''

    2002. Program block to simply record an old Y movement without any rotary output
    Dim value
    value = MILL_GetRotaryAngle()
    Call MILL_SetDoubleMemoryLoc(1, value)


    I know I'm missing something here and compared with the the post "fix's" done ... this one seems quite simple .... but nothing I've tried has worked. The program is for 4 axis .... the date and guys name who did the upgrade is at the start of the program and it says - addition of 4th axis variables in the posting notes.

    Can anyone help me out here ...... please !!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    76

    Re: 4th Axis Posting Problem

    We use 4th axis a lot (like weekly) on a FADAL. It works flawlessly for us. I would be happy to share the slightly modified post with you if you like. Since we KNOW it works, it might be an excellent point of departure.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4548
    Although it "could" be a post processor issue, i would lean more at file and feature setup....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    51

    Re: 4th Axis Posting Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by BurrMan View Post
    Although it "could" be a post processor issue, i would lean more at file and feature setup....
    Yes I did think that myself at first and ran the same machining routine, with the same machine configuration ..... but with a non Fadal posting file (I don't recall which one off hand) ... and it posted fine.

    Wolfman - offered gladly accepted ..... will PM

Similar Threads

  1. problem posting MCX5 posting to Cimco edit v5.6
    By cdmmachining in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2012, 02:09 PM
  2. Odd posting problem
    By LockTech in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-20-2012, 02:51 AM
  3. Problem Posting
    By FUBAR62172 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 06:54 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •