586,113 active members*
3,495 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > mastercam code to punch a tape for machine with tape reader
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    60

    mastercam code to punch a tape for machine with tape reader

    anyone used mastercam to send g-code to punch a tape. would like to know the settings and the editor that you used.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    305
    Oh Lordy,
    I had forgotten those things were still out there.

    Any ASCII text editor that will save in MSdos TEXT format will work for you.
    I like CimcoEdit that comes with MCam9.
    The trick is using a terminal program to send the file to the punch.
    This can be done directly from Mcam or any editor that supports communications.
    I have used HyperTerm in the past.

    For SERIAL communication it is important that the parameters are set EXACTLY the same at both ends.

    Baud rate, number of data bits, parity, number of stop bits and handshaking MUST match EXACTLY.

    The most common settings are...
    7 data bits, even parity, 1 stop bit, XON XOFF handshaking.
    Once again, these settings are dependent on what your punch can handle.

    The fastest punch I've seen does 120 characters per second.
    So setting the baud rate more than 1200 is pretty much moot.
    Having not used a real tape punch in the last 20 years or so, I can't tell you about anything faster.

    Next thing you need is a serial cable that is properly wired for communications.
    There are many wiring diagrams available on the Internet for serial communications.
    The punches I am familiar with use a DB25 connector.
    Most serial ports on PC's are DB9 connectors.
    This link should help you.

    http://www.zytrax.com/tech/layer_1/c...#null_db9_db25

    From here you should be able to punch a tape with no problems.

    I would, however, recommend that you look into replacing the tape reader with some kind of tape emulator or DNC system.
    It is simple economics.
    Paper tape is 10 characters per inch or 120 characters per foot.
    144000 characters per 1200 foot roll AND costs about $45.00
    1 floppy cost $0.40 and holds 10 rolls of 1200 foot tape or 12 rolls of 1000 foot tape.
    A DNC system doesent need floppies or paper tape.

    This seems like a "no brainer" to me.
    Sure, it will cost you a few thousand for the replacement, but it will be paid back very quickly if you need to run LARGE programs.
    It will save you "OODLES" of time not having to wait 20 minutes to punch one roll of tape.
    And even more time if you make a few mistakes and have to punch the tape over and over again.
    ObrienDave. MasterCam since V6. Gcode since 1983.
    The nose you punch today may belong to the butt you have to kiss tomorrow.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    60
    thanks dave very helpful info:rainfro:

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    60
    hi dave
    i'm getting close but i am getting blank space betweens lines of code
    EX. X0Y0

    G01X1

    M30

    the tape at the machine wont read it.

    ANY IDEAS

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    60
    also is there something i need at start of file like a % etc.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3634
    I think the latest version of NcPlot www.ncplot.com will remove blank lines with 1 click.

    15 day trial.


    .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    60
    the blank spaces show up after i puch the tape then read it thru the tape punch back to the computer to check the g-code

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    24221
    What program are you using to read the tape back to the computer? a modem program?
    Many Programs have the option wether you want to add a LF (line feed) at a CR (carriage return).
    if your tape already does it then you could be adding a second one with the above opton set on.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1013
    You need to supress/strip the Line Feed command, ascii code 010. It probably has an ascii code of 013 for Carrige Return. On coms systems the Ascii does a Line feed and a Carriage Return.

    Check you communications program for charecters to Strip or Supress during the send.

    Mike Mattera
    Tips For Manufacturing Training CD's, DVD's for Mastercam, SolidWorks, Inventor, G-Code Training & More
    http://www.tipsforcadcam.com

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-15-2007, 09:06 PM
  2. Fanuc tape reader
    By simoj in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-13-2006, 07:46 AM
  3. Fanuc 6M Tape reader conversion
    By Olsson in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 01:17 PM
  4. Fanuc 3000C tape reader conversion
    By nlh in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 12:06 AM
  5. Mid tape DNC
    By nervis1 in forum Fadal
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-22-2004, 01:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •