586,231 active members*
3,222 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

How to use Power Lathe Chuck

I've just begun using my newly acquired CNC engine lathe.

Its out fitted with a 10" HOWA 3-Jaw power chuck. I've got some soft jaws are ready to cut metal.

I have no experience with this type of chuck and am looking for pointers or user instructions. I'm sure I can muddle thru it, but I'm also sure that there's some hints and tricks that would help me.

Any suggestions on reading material or do's and don'ts about these chucks would by appreciated.

Specifically I'm wondering;

1. Do I really need those rings or circular fixtures to hold the jaws partially open for cutting or can I just let the chuck jaw travel run against its end stop, mount the jaws and cut them like that?

2. If I do the above, does it matter if I use the outside or inside travel stop?

3. Would I be better off investing the $600+ in a set of hard jaws or would I be better off just making soft jaws as I need them.

4. How do I determine the proper pressure for the hydraulic pump. How often do I have to mess with this setting? Is there a recommended PSI of jaw contact pressure? I normally turn aluminum, 303sst, and 1018crs.

5. The lathe spindle is A1-6, what's the best way to handle collets in this machine? A set of those trick power chuck jaws that hold 5C/16C collets, or remove the whole thing and use a different collet chuck? Anyone have experience with the collet holding power chuck jaws?

6. There are zerk fittings on the ends of the sliders for the chuck. What should I squirt into those and how often? Oil, light grease, heavy grease??

Thanks for any comments,

John