586,119 active members*
3,466 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

CNC lathe conversion (again, sorry!)

Ok guys, i got the lathe, and am in the process of cleaning the gunk off of it. I am considering the cnc conversion, which should be quite straight forward, but need a little help on the x-axis leadscrew. One end is not supported, but I would like to add a bearing or two to stiffen it up. Now if the saddle were made of ali, I would dive straight in and bore a hole through, and whack a mounting plate on the outside for the bearings (obviously the leadscrew will be replaced with a longer one). But, since I have never even thought about cutting/drilling cast iron, your opinions/experience would be a great help. I have NO access to a mill, so it's pillar drill only I'm affraid. What to do?

The thickness of cast iron I would need to get through is about 1". Thanks

Im no expert, but on my machine I just used a hand drill, it cuts very easily but produces a fine dust which gets everywhere, it taps easily as well.
    Paul

Well a hand drill will screw this up for sure; unless you can guide it somehow

I'd be inclined to just use the leadscrew as is; if you have no access to a milling machine to make even a guide to steady the drill bit from the handwheel side; trying to drill this without a mill from the opposite end will result in disaster

If you re-placed the lead screw with a ball screw and nut the project would be much more accurate; but I'll have to say somewhere in the process a machine shop will have to be found to help you

If this route is the way you go; the old nut could be used as the guide for a long drill to punch through the cast iron; then "maybe" you could bore it up to a brg dia with a drill press; I hope you have at least a finger dial to pick up the hole center