586,060 active members*
4,376 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Learning CNC

Learning CNC

Howdy: Does anyone out there have an idea as to where i could look to learn the basics in CNC programing? I'm a 20 year vet. in the machining trade, but have finally decided to try the CNC thing.

Get a book like Computer Numerical Control Programming by Michael Sava & Joseph Pusztai ISBN 0-13-156084-0 and use a free simulator like MicroTech CNC to run any program you write.
    But this of course is only the start.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

CNC programming

Thanks Al: I've already ordered the book and downloaded the simulater. I took CNC training in my 3rd and 4th year but that was back in the 80's. I'm hoping some of the G - codes and stuff have not changed to much.

Clayman

It might be a bit steep for what you would like to spend but a Haas Control Simulator gives you a complete CNC lathe or Mill minus all the mechanical stuff and costs just under $US1700. It fully simulates all the operations of the Haas machines, you can run programs in Graphics mode and just see a screen trace of the toolpath or you can run them as if there was a machine actually moving things. All the displays are present, you can follow the theoretical position of the machine on the readouts and it evens simulates the spindle load.

You can go to www.milltronics.net and download the simulators for their machines, mill and lathe. The G code is standard, compatable with fanuc. The simulators run in XP just fine, full screen. I also use them with a free program called DOS Box, it will run just about anything in a window. I have a milltronics ML15 lathe and use the simulator to do all the programming. I also have a MB19 mill and the simulator works as well.

enat

Wish I knew about that microtech cnc program earlier.