586,043 active members*
3,717 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Questions rf-31 retrofit

Hello all

I’m new to this and would like to get opinions about a round pole rf-31 clone 3 axis retro. Jeff Davis style

Dc servo size - Does it make sense to go with a little extra power? Will it make it easier to setup the mill and avoid faulting and such or will it just cause trouble? Wondering if 1100oz 90v nema23 (camtronics) or 850oz 72v nema24 keling with gecko g320 drives and 72v 20a keeling power supply is too big?

Timing pulley ratio – Jeff calls out 2:1 with 430oz servos. Should this increase with the larger servos (3:1) ?

Encoders – Assuming reid 5/8 .200 ball screw, which encoder makes more sense 200, 250 or 500 cpr.

Internal Z axis mount – When the time comes, will the camtronics 1100 nema23 servo fit inside the head? How about the keling 850 nema24

Z axis preload – What’s the thought on Z axis preloads? And does it fit inside the head?

Front mount Z axis - There’s a need to double as a wood working drill press for a short time. What about mounting the z axis ball screw assembly on the front of the head with a disconnect quill plate, keeping the spider handle till things change?

Ball screw wipers – How can I fabricate inexpensive wipers? – I saw some good posts but I just can’t find them any more. One using a door mat sweep and the other silicon caulk.

Lubrication – What kind of lubrication is needed for the ball screws and contact bearings?

Thanks

Mike,
    I'll throw my .03¢ in as I converted my RF31.