586,731 active members*
2,715 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Knee Vertical Mills > How to decide if an old milling machine is good?

How to decide if an old milling machine is good?

I'm new to machining.
    I want to buy a used Bridgeport series I or similar mill for a low price to get started. Then I want do a DIY CNC on the same mill.

Any suggestions on where to find this rare milling machine beast?

And once found, what should I be looking at to dertimine if the mill needs a total rebuild or not? (Prefer not to rebuild)
    Is there an easy test that can be done to detemine accuracy? needs a rebuild?

Crazyman-
    If you are going to be converting a bridgeport to CNC, why not just purchase one that already is a CNC? It would save considerable time and money to go this route. These are available relatively cheap, at least here in new england. They can be purchased for $2-4000 US, or less if you are lucky. Plus, HSM (Home Shop Machinist Magazine) recently did an article about stripping down and simplyfing a used CNC bridgeport. I am currently doing this to a 1993 model V2XT which is servo driven. The great part about my machine is that the computers were unreliable, so this machine spent most of it's time sitting idle, so the machine is in great mechanical contition. I plan on upgrading the computer control, and I am researching servo drives and controls.