586,068 active members*
3,876 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Phase Converters > protecting a VFD from contamination

protecting a VFD from contamination

My shop is pretty dusty. I worry that my wide open Hitachi VFD will fill up with junk and short out. I mounted it high on the wall (above 7 feet) but I wonder if anyone has a good solution that won't impact proper cooling. How about mounting an air conditioner filter above the unit to catch dust? Suggestions?

Bill

Bill I work in the printing industry, we have enclosed every one of our drives that were not already done so. Very simply get you average run of the mill cabinet, enclose it, add at least one fan(best to be pushing into the box), and but some filter mat. The cost of the box is no even close to replacing the box, plus it helps as a heat sink. Every drive I have worked with will have specfic instructions about clearances inside an enclosure, drives can handle fairly hot areas, hotter then most people can tolerate, but as with anything electronic the cooler that you keep it the longer it will last. I jsut finished an enclosure for a 5 hp mitsbushi drive and plc the enclousre was around $40 the fan was about $15, the filter mat I have in roll form I use from grainger 4wz60 i think but you would not need that much as its in the 100' length but a similiar material should work, its slightly sticky so it grabs dust out of the air. Also the when changing the filters( I put one on the outlet also) I blow out the cabinets with a brief indirect blast of air.

chris

Fans and filters are one way to go, as long as you are fastidious about cleaning the filter media. If not, the filter clogs quickly, the air movement stops, the VFD fries.