586,065 active members*
4,874 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Am I insane for being here?

Good morning!

I've been lurking in this forum for a few days because I've been wanting to build a CNC machine for months now, but the winter weather and a baby boy have kept me out of the garage.

I have so much use for a CNC machine as I build models and my wife does a lot of crafts. I have little woodworking experience, extensive software experience, some electronics experience, but absolutely no metalworking or CNC experience. With that said, am I insane for wanting to tackle a project like this? I can't afford to buy a CNC machine, nor can I afford to build one in a short amount of time.

Has anyone with as little experience as me tried to do this and succeeded? I've looked at some of the machines you all have built and they are wonderful pieces of machinery, I sit here amazed at your handiwork.

I'm overwhelmed by the different choices of parts (steppers, servos, slides, lead screws, ways), so that right there is going to be sticky for me, given my lack of experience. I love to build, I love to create, but I don't often get things right on the first try. Should I put the time and money into trying this project?

Thanks for any feedback!

K.C.
    Spokane, WA

Yes, you’re crazy and yes you should build a machine. A cnc machine will give you an opportunity to make some extra cash or just to have fun making things that otherwise you could not do. CNC saves so much time and the things you can make are awesome. You can take your time building one and just accumulate the parts little by little if money is a issue.

K.C.

If you are computer savvy, you should have no problems with the electrical schematics and theory of operations. It just takes time to research, and I'm sure you're familiar with research.

Everyone here is great with advise and ideas to help you get over the humps. If you don't go for it, you will always wish you had...

Have a great day,