504,607 active members
4,028 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    115

    Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.

    Hi, does anybody have any leads relating to converting Rongfu clone mills to a 30 taper?
    It's a universally copied design (rongfu) and there has to be somebody making a dollar from the conversion.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    334

    Re: Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.

    A long time ago EMCO made some mills that size with a manual tool change for 30 size tapers. They are available used occasionally.

    Your question is good, the problem is usually that taper comes with a gripper system which makes for a big jump in cost relative to a Rongfu with an R8 taper.
    The 30 taper pushes the assembly into an unattractive price point.
    I could be proven wrong(fu) though. (sorry for the bad pun)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    572

    Re: Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.

    charter oak has an optional NT30 spindle upgrade. I'm pretty sure you can buy it separate from the mill. Might be worth a quick phone call if you're interested.

    Manual Square-Column Bed Mills | Charter Oak Automation

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    115
    Thanks CS900, that spindle suits RF45 clones, can anybody confirm if an RF45 spindle tube has the same dimension as an RF30/31/32 spindle tube?
    Edit;
    After a bit of google its looking likely that the 75mm quill assembly on the round column and square column are close in terms of design and part numbers.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    572

    Re: Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.

    i would think you could make it work. You may have to replace the bearings to match the new spindle dimensions and the upper bearing location may be off a bit. I'm sure you could make it work.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    115
    The company that sells those are not easy to email replies from, I imagine going in person or by phone would get results.
    Not easy to do from across the pacific ocean.
    Wisdom results from foolishness!

Similar Threads

  1. ISO30 or CAT30? tool holders source
    By DigitalDeath in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-19-2019, 06:51 PM
  2. ZX4075 BT30/ISO30 Spindle
    By vakeiros in forum RF-45 Clone Mill
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 01:14 AM
  3. Iso30/bt30 different holder?
    By gary_808 in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-2015, 03:24 PM
  4. BT30 Spindle cartridge for a smithy mill
    By mlennon in forum Maintenance DIY Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2013, 05:13 PM
  5. convert SK30/BT30 to int30(ISO30) toolholder
    By HenrikGM in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2009, 08:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •