586,069 active members*
3,946 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Rhino 3D > Importing dwg.files

Importing dwg.files

When I import a dwg print the drawing is scaled down including the dimensions. How can I correct this and get a 1-1 drawing imported.

HERE IS A THOUGHT - GIVE IT A TRY:::

Set units to the right spec - inches, ft, mm etc (PROPERTIES etc -- thats the icon 3 or 4 over from left on the first icon bar..)

Then:

1 Select (the active) viewport (The one you will import to...)
    2. Select Dimension (Linear) from top toolbar - draw a dimension that is close to you want in the direction you are concerned...
    3. From (Main/TOP) toolbar--Pull down Scale - pick 2D - work the size
    4. Size 'til you get it right?

I've worked some that are 10,000x off (mind you these were *.dxf files, using this way - sorry its crude, but I'm self taught - I think it should work for dwg too -- I'd think.)

Just a thought - give it a try

Hope that helps!
    :cheers: Jim
    Experience is the BEST Teacher. Is that why it usually arrives in a shower of sparks, flash of light, loud bang, a cloud of smoke, AND -- a BILL to pay? You usually get it -- just after you need it.

There are several things that may be going on here.

A) ACAD file formats (dxf, dwg) don't contain real specific units info the way an IGES or STEP will. So, in many cases, the file will take on the units of the importing program at the time of the import.

B) If the drawing is in paper space in ACAD, it may cause problems. The import may take on the scale of the paperspace detail, for example.

The best procedure is as follows:

1) Open Rhino.