586,123 active members*
3,420 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Avid CNC > Planning New Machine Build - Many Questions
Page 1 of 3 123

Planning New Machine Build - Many Questions

My apologies for a long first post. If this is the wrong forum, please feel free to relocate.

I’m planning on getting a CNC router later this year primarily for hobby and maybe eventually small luthier commercial production (my son, not me). My interests are working in wood (carvings, boxes, decorative items, maybe furniture and the occasional bit of cabinetry) and, down the road to support my car hobby, aluminum up to maybe 0.5” for one-off brackets, interior trim pieces and the like, and maybe some plasma sheet metal cutting. I might want to play with a 4th axis someday, but that’s not an immediate need/interest. I’m completely new to CNC so not invested in any particular family of controller or controller software. However, I’m not new to building mechanical things, assembling electronic equipment or wiring. I’ve always purchased the best tool I could afford, and I’ve read the “buy your second CNC first” advice. Finally, I’d like to keep the overall budget for this purchase to $12,000 or so.