507,890 active members
3,345 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    1

    Question close geometry

    hey everyone,

    simple one for you,
    im very new to alphacam and cad type programmes,
    I have drawn a simple shape i need to machine, ive been able to apply a z level to it but i cannot set a material or or tool path because it says i need to close the geometry,
    as far as i can tell it is closed.

    What am i missing?.

    Thanks,
    Tony

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    829

    Re: close geometry

    I'm not familiar with alphacam but CAM systems are sensitive to line gaps. Look at each intersection and check its contiguous. Some systems have a chaining function so if you select a line it will chain the lines connected to it. It stops at a gap so it's easier to find them. Look closely they can be hard to find (in plain sight).Peter

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    191

    Re: close geometry

    Welcome to the Zone.

    you can insert an Image (Screen shot) or Video of want you're trying to do with Quick Reply Tool Bar..
    Good luck

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    70

    Re: close geometry

    You most probably also need to join the elements in your profile to create one continuous machinable profile using "Join" in the "Edit" Menu which should close the geometry.
    Click on "Edit" then "Join" then select (click on) each element you want to join then click on "Finish (ESC)"
    Elements won't join if an element does not start at the exact end of the previous element you will then need to use "Trim" or "Extend" before using "Join"

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    796

    Re: close geometry

    Good advice so far. I've never used Alphacam, so my advice is more generic. Open vectors can be hard to find, as others have mentioned. Look at what you think are closed intersections and zoom way in for a micro closeup. Somethings that's the only way you can see them.

  6. #6
    if joining does not work also try common line removal. If you have two lines on top of each other it can sometimes cause problem and using common line removal will remove one of the lines.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    145

    Re: close geometry

    There is a function called " show breaks " which you will find in the view tab/display options (looks like two crosses on a broken geometry )
    It will put white crosses on your picked geometry where the start point is along with any broken elements. It`s a very useful function. Sometimes you might find a copied
    line which is underneath al line which is more difficult to spot.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    108

    Re: close geometry

    As long as You don't attach the drawing - we can only guess..

Similar Threads

  1. How to close this geometry?
    By vodjoa in forum Rhino 3D
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-14-2016, 06:08 PM
  2. How close is close enough? (tramming)
    By bonesbr549 in forum CNC Router Parts
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-21-2016, 02:02 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-07-2014, 06:26 PM
  4. Gecko - close to computer or close to motor?
    By andy_ck87028 in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-28-2005, 05:39 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •