508,110 active members
2,492 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?
Page 2 of 5 1234
Results 13 to 24 of 50
  1. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1751

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    This did remind me to check and adjust my hammer. I need to remember to do this monthly or more often then 6 months or more. Anyway it was off a little in x with dial to front. Can be tricky to adjust, I first loosen all the sets screws a tiny amount. Then rotate hammer using belt drive wheel. Carefully adjust screws in sets. Get it on 0 then move away . Remove probe and turn as desired put back in. Move back on indicator, check and no change.

    For me a hammer is a must like a pdb. Makes setting ucs simple, fast and accurate with 1/10 the steps I use for edge finders and height indicators.

    I would replace r8 collet and adjust draw bar and lube as per instructions. Also I would check the probe on a spin indexer with 3/4 collet as a control. This could help rule out holder issue.

  2. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1476

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    It appeared to be a tts ring held in place with a set screw to me is whay I said that.

    what you have should work fine.
    mike sr

  3. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10429

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by popspipes View Post
    It appeared to be a tts ring held in place with a set screw to me is whay I said that.

    what you have should work fine.
    They are all one piece machined hardened and Ground
    Mactec54

  4. #16

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    29

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    I had this problem with Haimer and the TTS holder for it. The concentricity of the tip always go off by +/-0.01mm after a while, but not immediate like yours did.

    Unfortunately I don't have good news for you as I have pretty much given up on my Haimer. I use the Hallmark ITTP now and that has been a great piece of equipment.

    I hope you will find a solution for your Haimer soon.

  5. #17

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    27

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by Snecx View Post
    I had this problem with Haimer and the TTS holder for it. The concentricity of the tip always go off by +/-0.01mm after a while, but not immediate like yours did.

    Unfortunately I don't have good news for you as I have pretty much given up on my Haimer. I use the Hallmark ITTP now and that has been a great piece of equipment.

    I hope you will find a solution for your Haimer soon.
    Ya, im right there with ya. I am about ready to give up on it as well.

  6. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1751

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by Snecx View Post
    I had this problem with Haimer and the TTS holder for it. The concentricity of the tip always go off by +/-0.01mm after a while, but not immediate like yours did.

    Unfortunately I don't have good news for you as I have pretty much given up on my Haimer. I use the Hallmark ITTP now and that has been a great piece of equipment.

    I hope you will find a solution for your Haimer soon.
    Interesting!
    Electronic probes don't require adjustment?

  7. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1938

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by mountaindew View Post
    Interesting!
    Electronic probes don't require adjustment?
    Umm. Yes they do. Electronic or not it still has a probe tip that has to be adjusted to run true with the spindle.

  8. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1476

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    Maybe the shock of the PDB closing/closing is affecting the accuracy?
    I would try a piece of ground stock in the spindle, indicate it and then remove and reinstall, and indicate it again, if there is no difference iwould be suspect of the haimer, as the shock of the PDB opening or closing may be affecting it possibly??
    Sounds like a couple of others are having similar problems.

    Very interested in what you find the problem to be.
    mike sr

  9. #21
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1928

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by Snecx View Post
    I had this problem with Haimer and the TTS holder for it. The concentricity of the tip always go off by +/-0.01mm after a while, but not immediate like yours did.
    Quote Originally Posted by Snecx View Post

    Unfortunately I don't have good news for you as I have pretty much given up on my Haimer. I use the Hallmark ITTP now and that has been a great piece of equipment.

    I hope you will find a solution for your Haimer soon.



    Wait a minute. That's less than 4 tenths. Isn't that far better than the machine itself? Isn't anything less than 5 tenths considered pretty good for general machining?

    If the Haimer isn't working for you what do you go with instead?

    One option with electronic edge finders is to probe twice 180 degrees out, and then do the math. Even then unless you have a really really high end probe you could still be +/- a couple tenths. I've tested this by auto probing hole centers with am electronic probe. Cheap ones and mid range ones. Never had a high end one.
    Bob La Londe
    http://www.YumaBassMan.com

  10. #22
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1928

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    Sure seems to indicate 4 tenths is the spec for the unit.
    Please take note: The given measuring precision of 0.01 mm / 0.0004" only applies if the original HAIMER probe tips are used.
    https://www.haimer-usa.com/products/...3d-sensor.html
    Bob La Londe
    http://www.YumaBassMan.com

  11. #23
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1751

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob La Londe View Post
    Sure seems to indicate 4 tenths is the spec for the unit.


    https://www.haimer-usa.com/products/...3d-sensor.html

    When I said my probe needed adjustment is was off by exactly 2x that amount or 0.0008 moving the 0.0005 indicator a little in each side of 0
    I use tormach holder, hamier tips, . No drops, no spins. Good history of use, It even sets with a cover over it in tool rack.

  12. #24
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1928

    Re: tormach limitation, or am I doing something wrong?

    That's 4 tenths off center. Whichever way you measure its off 4 tenths. Not 8 tenths. Unless I grossly misunderstood what you just wrote.

    Just like in a 4 jaw chuck in a lathe. Its exactly half the variance off center when you throw your indicator on it. If you read 1 inch variance the stock is 1/2 inch off center.

    So, anyway, what is the alernative?
    Bob La Londe
    http://www.YumaBassMan.com

Page 2 of 5 1234

Similar Threads

  1. RDC6442G & RDWorks - Max speed limitation
    By weitzd in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2017, 08:10 PM
  2. rapid limitation in manual
    By deadlykitten in forum Okuma
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-05-2016, 10:16 AM
  3. Servomotors torque limitation
    By ericbg2 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-22-2016, 06:57 PM
  4. Axial limitation DMU 60P hi-dyn.
    By Raggus in forum CNC MACHINING CENTRES
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 04:59 PM
  5. Are there any software limitation for Proxxon?
    By jaru-eri in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2006, 01:06 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •