586,075 active members*
3,982 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Threading on a lathe.

Hi there,

Total moron here. I am a newbie to the world of twisting and turning metal. Although I have my ML7 lathe, and ZAY045 square column mill/drill for a time now, I am still stuck with the basics. I did come a far way down the line though but never-the-less still stuck at this point.

What point is that you may ask, well it is the !@$@#$^$ threading of a nut and a bolt. I "think" I have the actual turning of the threads inside and outside under the knee but turning them that they fit together is where I am totally lost at the moment.

I have a lot of scraps in the bin already, but it seems I just cannot get it right. This is not a question of give up and go and buy a tap and a die, but rather me that really wants to be able to do this before I go on.

OK, say for Instance I have turned down a piece of stock to 15.875mm(5/8"). I want to put a 26TPI thread on it. I found through literature that the full thread depth is 0.846mm. I go and turn a thread on this piece of stock 0.846mm deep. What I also do is take a minimal amount of the top for the rounding of the thread. Oh, I do not have a threading cutter so I am using a grinded 55 degree cutter.

I now take another piece of stock and bore a hole to the following calculation: Bolt outside orginal diameter - (0.846 * 2)

I now thread the inside of this nut. Guess what? the nut is way too small for my bolt. I know a lot of you may laugh but this is really frustrating to me.

Can anyone take me step for step through this dimensions thing so that I know how to work it out by myself in the future please. I have read this forum and some others but no where they actually give you the detail of this.

I must say at least my other turning skills has improved quite a lot with this excesize, but i want to move on now.

Thanks in advance.

regards

Nic