586,105 active members*
3,268 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    151

    G-Code for holding tabs

    New CNCer attempting to make small parts, I can draw and cut them, but they get damaged as cutter comes to end of cut and parts are loose. I would like to leave holding tabs on parts, like on etched parts. Problem is when I draw tabs CAM reads as just part of whole part and cuts around them.
    I have tried to write code to get the tool to 'hop' during cut on Z axis, but no succsess. Holding down parts with double sided tape does't work as not enough grip. Can anyone help?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    Copy your profile onto a second layer. Draw the tabs that you need on that layer.

    Then, profile the part with the original layer, down to a safe level that will keep the part safely attached.

    Then, create a second toolpath with the tabbed profile that you created. Cut this level all the way to the bottom of the part.

    I prefer to rough the profile most of the way down with a cutter that is quite a bit larger than the finish tool. This provides a wide enough kerf that the finishing tool will not be nibbling the edge of the waste and wanting to pull it up and cause havoc. Also, you need a little bit of room to permit the tool to get in and around the tabs without descending/ascending immediately next to the finished part.

    It's not dead simple, but then you are the machinist, and you have to do something to keep your elevated status
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    151
    Hi HFD
    Thanks for advise and makes sence, but when I draw a tab the CAM sees it as part of the cutting chain and therefore just cuts around the tab and thus not holding the part! or am I missunderstang something?

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    The tab should actually be part of a continuous chain of entities which joins the part to the stock. If you close the tab off, then it is just a different part profile.

    Machining the tabbed profile means that you would select partial chains, beginning at one tab and going up to (but not completely around) the next tab. Then, raise the tool, move to the other side of the next tab and select the next chain.

    If your software has a shortcut for "rapid move at clearance", then you could make use of that feature. For example, in OneCNC, a certain style of dashed line will be interpreted by the CAM as a rapid movement. I do not know if this is a universal convention or not. But if it works in your software, then you can make the joining entity at the top of your tab to be a dashed line, and then you could perhaps select the entire tabbed profile, and your CAM may output moves to Z clearance at each dashed line.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    151
    HFD
    I understand the principle as you discribe, I am useing Mach3 with Lazy Cam.

    If I draw a simple rectangle and then four tabs centerd on four sides i.e. two lines at right angles to sides lazy cam reads these lines as seperate entities.

    Do I then give a smaller cut depth to the first enitie to raise tool, then origional depth on second to return tool?

    Thanks

    Mike

  6. #6
    Mike, did you ever find an answer to your tabs question? If so please share it.:cheers:

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    151
    Hi mvaughn
    I couldn't get HFD's idea to work so applied some latteral thinking i.e. if you can't raise the bridge, lower the river, by writing some extra code.
    Say we are cutting a 2" square out of 1/8" material with two passes of .063, here is example of code

    N4 (File square1 )
    N8 (Default Mill Post)
    N12 (File Posted in Mill Mode)
    N16 (Wednesday, June 06, 2007)
    N20 G90 G80 G40 G91.1
    N24 G0 Z0.1000
    N28 X-0.1150 Y1.0000
    N32 M3
    N36 G1 Z-0.0630 F1.00
    N40 G42
    N44 X0.0000 F5.00
    N48 Y0.0000
    N52 X2.0000
    N56 Y2.0000
    N60 X0.0000
    N64 Y1.0000
    N68 G40
    N72 X-0.1150
    N76 G0 Z0.0370
    N80 G1 Z-0.1260 F1.00
    N84 G42
    N88 X0.0000 F5.00
    N92 Y0.0000
    N91 X1.000 to stop cut
    N93 Z0.100 to raise tool
    N94 X1.250 to move tool along by 1/4"
    N95 Z-0.1260 to lower tool again
    N96 X2.0000
    N100 Y2.0000
    N104 X0.0000
    N108 Y1.0000
    N112 G40
    N116 X-0.1150
    N120 G0 Z0.1000
    N124 M5 M9
    N128 G40 G80
    M30
    These extra lines of code will leave a tab connection, just add same code on as many sides as you want, allowing for were you are on x & y, on thin material with small cutter 2 tabs should hold work in place.

    Cheers

    Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Problem using tabs
    By LongRat in forum SheetCam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-06-2006, 09:39 AM
  2. TL-1 Missing Tabs
    By elaganis in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2006, 06:24 PM
  3. Adding Tabs With MasterCam V9
    By mmcclain02 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2006, 08:53 PM
  4. Leaving tabs for model parts
    By Ninjak2k in forum SheetCam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-30-2005, 09:04 AM
  5. Tabs in V9
    By MikeA in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-21-2004, 12:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •