506,200 active members
2,919 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Tormach PathPilot™ > PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 14
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    39

    PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    Good evening all,
    I have the need to get that little bit more travel out of my Y axis. I have an 1100s3 running PathPilot 2.2.4.
    In doing research on how to, I found this thread from 2015 - https://www.cnczone.com/forums/torma...ft-limits.html
    However, when attempting to make the change ADMIN SET_Y_LIMIT x.x, I get the nanny interfering - "Soft limit is out of range for axis, capping at -9.5000000"

    Is there a way to dig in and adjust the capping range? I need 10" and it's there by just moving the rear Y limit block alone but I need PP to cooperate.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    I noticed that and reported the change in behavior to Tormach. I expect it will be fixed in the next release.
    An option might be to roll back to a previous version or two where it will let you increase Y, then update back to 2.2.4 and see if the setting sticks. I've not tried this so I can't guarantee it will work.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1469

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    Quote Originally Posted by 74BurkeMVN View Post
    Good evening all,
    I have the need to get that little bit more travel out of my Y axis. I have an 1100s3 running PathPilot 2.2.4.
    In doing research on how to, I found this thread from 2015 - https://www.cnczone.com/forums/torma...ft-limits.html
    However, when attempting to make the change ADMIN SET_Y_LIMIT x.x, I get the nanny interfering - "Soft limit is out of range for axis, capping at -9.5000000"

    Is there a way to dig in and adjust the capping range? I need 10" and it's there by just moving the rear Y limit block alone but I need PP to cooperate.

    I have an 1100 s3 and the Y limit is set at 10.125 and has been for several releases, this doesnt seem to change when installing a new release, or it hasnt in my case, I use the latest release to date.
    mike sr

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    39

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    Thanks guys, I think the oldest version I have is 2.0 on the stick they sent. I'll give it a try.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    799

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    The axis travel value is found in teh INI file for the specific model. PP will not let you set teh softlimits beyond that value. FOR instance if the travel limit is set to 9.5 it will not let you set the softlimit to 10 as it would exceed the max travel limit.

    You can change the value in your INI file. BUT each time you update PP you will have to reset that value.

    Also note that IF you create an error in doing that PP may not boot back up and then you have to FIX what ever error you created before it will boot. OR completely reload PP and start over.

    Just a thought, (;-) TP

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1469

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    I have 2.2.4 installed, travel limits specified for the machine are 9.5Y 18X, I have the soft limits set at 10.125 Y 19.25 X. This hasnt changed over the last few updates, I set them at a aproximatly 2.0, just checked them and the soft limits are the same as what I set them.

    On a side note, the 5300 rpm, which is actual, it wont let me use that figure anymore in the .ini file, shows up red in the rpm window now, this did work by changing it in the .ini file up until the last update.
    mike sr

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    28

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    I have never tried changing the soft limit via the ADMIN command, only via the .ini file, but could it be that the range is set to a positive value while PathPilot expects a negative range for Y axis? Just a suggestion, no idea if it is applicable.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    Quote Originally Posted by 74BurkeMVN View Post
    Thanks guys, I think the oldest version I have is 2.0 on the stick they sent. I'll give it a try.
    Versions prior to the current release are available on the their website.
    https://www.tormach.com/support/soft...release-notes/

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1469

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    When setting Y it has to be a negative value. X is a positive value.
    mike sr

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    39

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    Thanks for the sweet tips everyone!
    I went to "previous versions" on the update screen, and went back to 2.0. From there I did a bunch of fiddling finding the actual travel limits and ended up adjusting the Y home block, and both X blocks. I kept some buffer beyond the limit switches and ended up with X 18.600" and Y 10.125".
    Once set, I went back to "previous versions" on the update screen and loaded up v2.2.4 again.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    799

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    You do have to be careful about which copy of teh ini you are working with. There is teh Current version, the fallback version and teh last 2 updated versions on teh drive. And there are several ini files per setup teh base ini the ini and teh specific ini and many section based on teh Tormach model numbers.

    I just checked here again and it will not let me set teh softlimits beyond teh Max travel values specified in teh INI.

    V2.2.4

    Just a thought. (;-) TP

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    39

    Re: PathPilot Y soft limits "capping at -9.5000000"

    Quote Originally Posted by vmax549 View Post
    You do have to be careful about which copy of teh ini you are working with. There is teh Current version, the fallback version and teh last 2 updated versions on teh drive. And there are several ini files per setup teh base ini the ini and teh specific ini and many section based on teh Tormach model numbers.

    I just checked here again and it will not let me set teh softlimits beyond teh Max travel values specified in teh INI.

    V2.2.4

    Just a thought. (;-) TP
    I appreciate the warning and you probably have more knowledge/experience with the PathPilot software. However, I didn't change values in the .ini. I changed them from the MDI interface using ADMIN commands. Perhaps these in turn modify .ini files behind the scenes. I'm not exactly sure where it gets modified, but somewhere along the evolution of PP 2.x, software engineers "locked out" the ability to extend the travel range beyond the advertised 18"X & 9.5"Y with the "capping" nanny.
    However, as I mentioned and others suggested, if you revert to a previous version, make the MDI/ADMIN changes, then go back to the current version (2.2.4?), the ADMIN SET_Y_LIMIT -x.xx stays as configured in the previous software version. As long as I was in the weeds doing this, I went ahead and took an additional 0.600" in X travel.
    I've been running my machine all afternoon enjoying the single setup with the extra bit of Y I needed with no issues. All 0.625" of my Y travel came from moving the Y home limit block toward the operator as far as it would go. I found the rearward Y limit block is already beyond the "soft" limit I set of -10.125 so I left it there.

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Mach 3 - "Software Limits" Can't turn off Soft Limits
    By MattWiese in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2017, 05:10 PM
  2. PathPilot soft limits
    By popspipes in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-04-2015, 12:13 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-12-2015, 03:31 PM
  4. X Axis "Goes Off Pattern", "Awry", "Skewed", "Travels"
    By DaDaDaddio in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2013, 09:59 AM
  5. Desperate for help. Roland CJ-60 "Capping Error Message"
    By jmmccann in forum Printing, Scanners, Vinyl cutting and Plotters
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-03-2011, 07:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •