586,106 active members*
3,104 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

What Major incorperates CNC

Hello

I have a quick question.

Would anybody know what College Major would have CNC milling/lathing/operating/.ect

This may seem like a dumb question, but these days so many majors overlap and it is hard to pin point what you may be looking for.

I already checked every college major book I have as well as the internet.

Also this seemed like the most relevant section of the forums to post this in.

Thank you

Many thanks

This will help as I am Senior in High School trying to narrow down what I want to major in college as.

It might help to have a chat with a career counselor at your school, before you set your mind on a certain major.

I graduated with a degree in Industrial technology, with an emphasis in CAD/CAM systems management. The curriculum had a management core, and a technical core. We learned autocad, solidworks, and mastercam. The management core included operations management, industrial safety management, quality assurance (with statistical sampling and manipulation of data using excel), facility design, project management (with microsoft project), international quality standards (iso 9000). We had classes in product design, computers, computer networking, web design, robotics, PLC programming, materials, electronics, manufacturing processes. We got to do hands on manual and CNC machining. Most of the classes had big projects along with the regular homework so you would get your hands dirty and learn practical experience to go along with the book knowledge. If that sounds like what you are looking for then I would check for colleges with similar programs. I see you live in santa barbara, so you have a couple of quality schools nearby with industrial technology programs. Cal Poly in San Luis Obispo has a great industrial technology program, as Does Fresno State, which is where I went.