509,584 active members
4,149 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Autodesk CAM > Can you cut this on a 4th axis??
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    139

    Can you cut this on a 4th axis??

    This is a 6mm key. Half round and half square. I have the 6mm keyway stock so the challenge is to round the 6mm top. Understand I could do it with a bull nose, but can you do this in a 4th axis rotary?

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Re: Can you cut this on a 4th axis??

    It could be done on a 4th axis, but I would just use a corner rounding cutter.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    295

    Re: Can you cut this on a 4th axis??

    I would also do it as Jim suggested.
    4ax zig-zag is also possible although would require a great deal of support/stabilization for that long part. Think custom fixture, and/or additional features like center drilled hole to accommodate a tailstock/live center. By the time you are done your hourly-rate cost +20x the price of the cutter required for that job.
    Just easier to clamp it onto a 3ax vise and running two finish passes with a brand new/sharp R3 corner rounding cutter.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1748

    Re: Can you cut this on a 4th axis??

    Quote Originally Posted by FastFarmer View Post
    This is a 6mm key. Half round and half square. I have the 6mm keyway stock so the challenge is to round the 6mm top. Understand I could do it with a bull nose, but can you do this in a 4th axis rotary?

    Thanks
    I agree with all the other posters, such a job would be easiest done with a simple contour and a rounding cutter, just pop it in a vise and a couple of rough and finish passes and job done.

    Yes it can certainly be done in a 4th axis but the fixturing required would take time and money to make.

    However if you are determined to use a 4th axis then have a look at the attached Fusion file I have done and if it is of some use as a pointer then go for it



    JFYI When I opened your file it was 60mm square and 700 mm long, some key that

    Regards
    Rob

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    139

    Re: Can you cut this on a 4th axis??

    Quote Originally Posted by The Engine Guy View Post
    However if you are determined to use a 4th axis then have a look at the attached Fusion file I have done and if it is of some use as a pointer then go for it
    Excellent!! Challenge complete..
    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1748

    Re: Can you cut this on a 4th axis??

    Quote Originally Posted by FastFarmer View Post
    Excellent!! Challenge complete..
    Thanks!
    Didn`t know it was a challenge, is there a prize ??

    Few of these would do it :cheers:

    Although come to think of it most stuff seems to be a challenge with Fusion 360

    Regards
    Rob

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    139

    Re: Can you cut this on a 4th axis??

    Quote Originally Posted by The Engine Guy View Post
    Didn`t know it was a challenge, is there a prize ??
    Here ya go... first prize.. lol. Although I think I've convinced myself it's not the way to do it!

    https://youtu.be/wCJ9Fp8QGTc

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-11-2017, 10:31 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2016, 04:08 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2015, 07:37 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-04-2013, 05:30 AM
  5. 5-axis, 4-axis, and 3-axis CNC Router manufacturer
    By roctech in forum Roctech CNC Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2012, 09:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •