586,096 active members*
3,057 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Parker pdx13 driver and step motor

Parker pdx13 driver and step motor

Hello, I'm a newbie in everything cnc and I've been reading around the forums to learn everything I can.

I'm hoping to learn enough to convert our mill to cnc, make a cnc plasma cutting table, a cnc router, cnc tube notcher, etc.

Some quick questions tho. I've picked up a parker digiplan pdx13 along with the accompanying step motor, ball screws and linear guides. All dirt cheap too. They came from a factory machinery that is being sold for scrap. There are about 50 more units available if I want them but I'm still not quite sure I can make use of them.

So my question would be: Can I use them? I read in the pdx13's online manual that up to 7 units can be series together. They plug directly into the parallel port of a PC right? Does that mean I can have up to 7 axis if I so desire? How about compatibility with cam softwares?

Sorry for the questions. I know I can probably find the answers to some of them by reading more from the forums but the pdx13 units are very cheap but are only available for a limited time and I haven't learned enough to know if they'll be useful or not.

Um, no replies?

I've attached a picture of the unit just in case someone will recognize it.

Anyway, here's what I've learned from my research, please do correct me if I'm wrong.

The parker pdx13 units interfaces to the pc by the serial rs232 using tx/rx/ground and uses a command language called x-code to control the motion of the step motors.

On the other hand Modern cam software like mach3 uses the printer port to interface with the drivers. It uses 2 pins per axis to control the step and direction of the step motor.

Did I got it right? If so, I guess the next question would be how to make the pdx13 unit work with a cam software like mach3.