515,098 active members
4,281 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 14 of 18 41213141516
Results 261 to 280 of 354
  1. #261
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    294
    I agree - the proximity switches might as well be removed. But the end-of-travel limit switches can be retained and used for homing in Mach3. I tried to also set them as limits in Mach3, but they're only on one end, and I must have had some noise in the circuitry, as they kept tripping out at inconvenient times. So Soft Limits are working for me.

    Keep us posted on your progress!

  2. #262
    The one mentioned in the parts manual is ZRM 525 520, but that is meaningless to me and Google.

  3. #263
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21
    @ Amadeo
    same experience here. i retrofitted my pc mill 50 with the ex-work setup of belt and pulley on all axes but i was very unsatisfied with the low feed speeds. i sold the pc mill 50 and now i am working on retrofitting a f1 (which has the same mechanics as pc mill 50) . i have removed the pulleys and belts and have put a small rod on the end of the screw instead. i use 3Nm 5A (60x60mm) steppers which are now mounted by clamping couples directly on the screw. It should give feed speeds of at least 3000 mm / min while maintaining a force of at least 4000 N. I have finished the mechanics , but i am still working on the electrics before i can make first tests. I am also replacing the spindle drive by a 8000rpm siemens servo drive to make this thing a little bit more fun
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EMCO_F1_CNC2.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	24.9 KB 
ID:	189400Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EMCO_F1_CNC1.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	31.2 KB 
ID:	189402Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2013-06-08 14.46.39.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	71.5 KB 
ID:	189404Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2013-06-08 16.35.05.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	56.9 KB 
ID:	189406Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2013-06-08 16.14.36.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	131.0 KB 
ID:	189408Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2013-06-22 16.29.28.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	85.1 KB 
ID:	189410Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2013-06-15 14.48.11.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	90.9 KB 
ID:	189412

  4. #264
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18
    Hello All
    I found this EMCO F1 Mill Servo Conversion Project - table, cabinet, spindle & spindle drive page where someone is using the original dc spindle drive in an F1 mill conversion.
    Has anyone tried to use the original pcmill 3 phase spindle drive. Most of the connections are labelled except the control ones.
    I am in the middle of a pcmill 50 retrofit and my ebay purchase vfd is DOA.
    Im a bit short of funds now so it would be great to use the original.
    Also, if anyone is interested, I got the £200 longsmotor stepper kit off ebay and I can let you know how it goes in this size on machine if you like.

  5. #265
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    Hi Richaevans,

    In my retrofit I did use a 1Hp Variable Frequency Drive Inverter, you can find them on e-bay as low as $50 sometimes, in my case the drive is 120V to three phase, more common is 220 Volt to three phase.

    The gecko G540 will control it. On the driver can be programmed the rate of acceleration and deceleration, if reach the max current you determine, it will send a alarm than can be connected with the emergency stop of the machine, if you program the lowest RPM in example 100, under that RPM will cut the current to the motor and in this way you will not need a switch for start/stop the spindle.

    Also you can run the spindle counter clock wise and, if have the panel visible, you can read the RPM and/or current consumed by the spindle.

    Amedeo.

  6. #266
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21
    It might be possible to use the original vfd. I have just checked the electrical Plans and the vfd seems to need differential step & dir input like stepper drives. The Amd signal is the enable I think. I guess they are 5v. Just try it out and tell us.
    I know that the original stepper board can be used, because I did that but didn't try to use the vfd because they are so cheap available.
    Attachment 193266

  7. #267
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18
    Thanks for the advice Amedeo. I have a Delta vector drive that I got off eBay but it's not working. I contacted the local agents and explained the symptoms and the reply was " it's friar tucked mate."
    I know I need to get another one I just thought it seems a waste if the original board could be used. I'm sure it could if anyone knew how to wire the control inputs.

  8. #268
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18
    Awesome yvesdupre. I will check it out when I'm home from work. It would make sense that it's step/dir as it needs to sync with the z and I can't find a spindle encoder. Unfortunately my electronics knowledge is minimal and this is my first cnc so I'm sure there will be more questions. This solution would be great as I hate to waste anything that could be working.

  9. #269
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21
    Dont think it's possible to sync the asynchronous motor with z and generally it is very uncommon that a vfd for asynchronous motors has step dir input. because of the asynchronous motors physics it makes no sense. Maybe the clk input is for a pwm signal. But then it's easy . For a first test I would just put 5v on the enable input and on the clk input and if its pwm the motor should spin at full speed.
    But just try it.

  10. #270
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21
    And I guess it's 5v because I have never seen differential 24v signals , but I might be wrong .

  11. #271
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18
    I will try it tonight. The power input seems to have 2 live and 2 neutral inputs. Can this be correct?

  12. #272
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21
    that´s correct. One should be powered permanent and the other one can be disconnected by the safety circuit. for testing purpose you can connect both

  13. #273
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18
    Thanks for that. I daisy chained the power inputs for now and I have connected the motor. Nothing has exploded. I have a green and red light. Im guessing the red will go off with power to enable. I have printed the diagram and will try to orient it correctly now. Will keep you posted. Thanks for the help.

  14. #274
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18
    Well I still have a red light. It took a while to figure out which pin is which but I think the bottom ones are 1 and 2. I tried the 5v and no response. There it's a 3 pin plug that looks like estop and I tried it with pins 2 and 3 joined too. Maybe is not 5v. Maybe the drive is faulty.

  15. #275
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21
    Do you have the Electric Plans from emco. Maybe you can find Out with them what the 3 Pole Plug is for. If you dont have them. I can mail to you. Just pm me your mail adress.

  16. #276
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1 cabinet.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	84.5 KB 
ID:	193460Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2 inputs.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	79.5 KB 
ID:	193462Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3 inputs.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	67.8 KB 
ID:	193464Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4 inputs.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	54.8 KB 
ID:	193466Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5 connections.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	35.2 KB 
ID:	193468

  17. #277
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18
    Hi yvesdupre I have posted some pics of the drive. The last pic is a drawing of the control interface that shows which pins have tracks on the drive board. The ones with crosses are also connected at the destination so it looks like pins 9 and 10 are not connected. I might have it all wrong as Im not very clued up. The e-off is only connected by pins 2 and 3 and the estop is normally closed so I tried it with the two pins connected. As I said before, I have both lights lit. Thanks for the offer of the plans. I will pm you now.

  18. #278
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18
    Well I put 24v to the e-off pins 2 and 3 and now the error light is off and the drive is ready. Still no response from 5v to any of the control pins. I am lost.

  19. #279
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21
    Maybe you have to try it with a real differential signal. That means you have to put 5v and -5v to the control pins.

  20. #280
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    294
    Quote Originally Posted by yvesdupre View Post
    Maybe you have to try it with a real differential signal. That means you have to put 5v and -5v to the control pins.
    Or perhaps a 0V to 5V square wave at a suitable frequency related to the desired spindle speed. 500Hz for starters? Try using the step and direction signals from one of the axis drives into this board and see if the spindle moves when you pass an axis movement command.

Page 14 of 18 41213141516

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-14-2013, 08:23 PM
  2. X3 (Or similar mini mill) Rigidity Q
    By binfordw in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-19-2013, 01:44 AM
  3. Datron mill, any thing similar?
    By Dark-Angel in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 05:12 AM
  4. Wanted: Sherline or Similar CNC Mill/Lathe Setup
    By gerryv in forum Canadian Club House
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-31-2007, 03:57 PM
  5. Using Moglice or Similar to Improve your Mill Ways?
    By Oldmanandhistoy in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-22-2007, 02:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •