586,058 active members*
4,086 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

First post complete newbie

hello All,

I've been browsing here for a couple of weeks now. I became very much interested on this hobby CNC thing and
    suddenly felt the urge to build a hobby CNC router myself. , There's so much information to read and digest but I'm learning a lot, atleast I know more, than 3 weeks ago.

I don't have any background in the field but know a little bit of electronics, so please bear with me.

Initially I wanted to build a small one about 12" x 12",
    I started collecting parts from scrap printers.
    I've been reading about leadscrews,acme rods, and ballscrews and now know the difference between them, the problem is where to find them without buying online, I live in Montreal and I'm trying to look for a place to buy and yesterday me and my friend went to a flea market outside Montreal searching for pressure switch that we're going to use for his homemade airbrush compressor from a fridge compressor, We stumble to a
    mechanical junk store and found this:
    Linear

I got this for $200 CAD, I'm not sure if I got jiffed cause I don't really know how much this actually cost, and the guy that sold it keeps giving me the price for each component of the thing while I'm trying to bargain with him, and I figure it's already been built,
    and I don't want to miss the opportunity so I grab it not knowing the exact specification of the ballscrew, and it's condition. I sprayed it last night with WD40 and cleaned some dirt build up and some rust on the end where the bearings don't reach. As far as I can tell it's still in good condition though I think I'm hearing like there's a sand inside the pillow block maybe it's just dirt, because it's still slide from end to end with no problem.

It's about 44"x 21" with a travel of 36" because of the stopper on each end, now the ballscrew thread pitch is a bit tricky to measure