586,065 active members*
4,842 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > First test of Series I Boss 6 mill? Spindle inop...

First test of Series I Boss 6 mill? Spindle inop...

Hello everyone,

I just powered up a Series I Boss 6 (at least that's the boss # that the seller said it was, don't know how to tell) that I just bought. I have been messing around with the functions, and have gotten X, Y, and Z axes to move. However, I have yet to be able to move the spindle. I remember reading somewhere that there is an interlock switch on the Bijur autolube that will not allow the spindle to move if the level is too low. Is that true? If so, I'll probably top it off with whatever auto oil I have on hand (probably 10w30) and try to get it to reset.

Does that seem to raise any problems? Also, are there any other reasons that anyone can think of as to why the spindle won't turn. I am brand new at CNC, and this mill, so please don't think anything more complicated than plugging the machine into the phase converter is too simple or obvious.

Finally, if anyone has come up with a good way to test the functions of one of these mills without having the tape for the tape drive, I'd love to hear it. Thanks to all for any suggestions!!

Ian

Way oil is very special. Do not use motor oil!
    There is also a overload for the spindle. It could be tripped. It may have a air brake that needs to be released.
    ETC.

George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

1st problem solved, on to next problem...

Thanks George, for the quick response. I went back to the shop and reset everything that I could think of and lo and behold the spindle now turns!