586,103 active members*
3,599 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

trial software for newbie

First time I've ever tried this forum thing. we'll see how it goes.

I am looking to build a CNC mill/lathe for woodworking. I want to be able to cut XYZ axis and rotate about the x axis (A rotation I believe). I know nothing of CNC controls or have I ever worked with a CNC machine. I want some software I can play with to make sure my new contraption will work before I spend hundred on building the machine. Any suggestions for a free program or good trial software that will allow me to learn a little about CAM and CNC process? I am really wanting to turn barley twists and indexing cuts (flutes) I am an engineer and understand CAD well. but CAM and CNC not so much. any info would be greatly appreciated.

You can get a evaluation version of Solidcam from their website. It won't generate NC though, you can only play around with the operations. But that can teach you quite a bit.

Thing is, I don't know if it will run without Solidworks. But it's free to try.

I don't know of any wood lathe specific CAM software out there. The trial of MeshCAM will do 4 axis code from an .stl file, and the trial of Mach3 will show you how it will run. You may find that indexed flutes would be best coded by hand, and perhaps the twist as well, for the most efficient machining.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Here's what I did

I'm still new but don't , 4 axis and software = thousands

I started with Mach 2 ,sheet cam and mesh cam demos played with those