586,094 active members*
4,177 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Post Are all steppers microsteppable?

The question I have pertains to microstepping. I started playing with stepper motors after my son got into robotics at school. For a great learning experience my son and I decided that we would design and build a small CNC completely from scratch. Electronics, hardware everything. This site fell right in place with us for a lot of the mechanical ideas and the DIY agenda in progress. For us electronics came first. To begin we designed and put together a microstep stepper controller using a PIC micro, dual H-bridge drivers with chopper current feedback control. Step/Dir inputs so it can be used with TurboCNC. We did not use any of the availble integrated circuits that most hobbiest drivers use, such as the LMD18245 or the L297/L298 combo. Our H-bridge circuitry is scaleable to whatever our current and voltage requirements are and we learn from building it. Right now we are using IRF2804 NMOS FETS in the bridge as I have lots of them and they are very robust. They have excellent surge capability as they are meant for automotive applications and low RDS on. They can handle 168 A @ 40volts. Kind of overkill when all I need is 2 A at 30 volts but oh well.