586,058 active members*
3,393 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Phase Converters > Moving Shop 3 phase converter ?s
Page 1 of 2 12

Moving Shop 3 phase converter ?s

Hello, and thanks for looking.

I am going to be moving my small CNC shop and not going to have an option for 3 phase power. I was wanting to find out what converter would be sufficient in powering it without problems? What service would I need at the shop? I'm not an electrician, just a machinist, so I don't know much about it. Thanks for any help.

The machines power specs are as follows:

Haas VF3

14 kVA;
    200-250 VAC @ 50A, 3-phase;
    50-60 H

Thanks

Jimmy

You did not say if more than one machine.
    But you need a 220 v 100amp 1 phase minimum, if just the one and to allow for other accessories etc.
    If you are looking to expand in the future and you are putting a new service go for a 200amp service.
    This should offset the chance of brown-outs & voltage drop due to sudden current demands.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Al,

thanks for the help. It is just for the one machine, but I will also need to run a air compressor to supply air for the machine. I was wondering, what size of a Phase Perfect I would need for the mill? I may one day put another mill in also, so that is in the picture too.

Thanks again.

Jimmy

If you still have the machine connected to 3ph supply, you could take a current reading of the machine with a heavy spindle load to see what the machine typically draws on heavy load and then request a recomendation from phase perfect, of course if you are thinking of expanding then you need an estimated load figure of what you may be looking at in the future.
    Also what the compressor draw is.
    Al.

Albert E.

Quote Originally Posted by conceptmachinin View Post