586,094 active members*
3,942 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > Waterjet General Topics > what is needed to build a cnc table(plasma)

what is needed to build a cnc table(plasma)

Hey every one!

I am new to this cnc stuff. Can some one please tell me what is needed to build a cnc table and recomended brands.

example: 1 you need a table
    2 linear rails, home made , bought etc
    3 stepper or servo motors

and on and on.

I need like a parts list so that i can work out what i need to buy and then i can price up the whole machine/system.

I will be using it as a plasma cutter table and want a cut area of 8'x4', so i can cut a full sized sheet of steel. I have been recommended a ipm speed of up to 350-400. So do i need ballscrew, rack and pinion, gear reduction etc etc. Hopefully anyone else in my situation can learn what to do as well. Because at the moment i read about people using gecko drives xyloto drives steppers servo's turbo cnc etc etc.

So if some one can help me work out what to do that would be absolutley wonderfull.

Cheers Apples, from Australia

The purpose of this forum is for each of us to share what we are doing so that others can then make those descisions from what they have learnt. If you dont want to design your own machine then you can always buy professional plans from a cnc designer company.

I will say that Rutex is an Australian company and makes great servo drive cards for any CNC machine.
    I see that they also offer flame cutting software too. You might also want to consider using Mach 2 to drive your cards.

Good luck on your journey.
    Being outside the square !!!