586,123 active members*
3,467 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Lathes > Chatter on small dia parts SL-30

Chatter on small dia parts SL-30

Ok, some quick information. I have been a machinist for over 30 yrs.(love having dirty hands...) Mostly manual, now in cnc mills and learning cnc lathes. Started with the Prototrak lathe and think it's great for what it is intended for. (quick and easy for 1/2/3 parts) Now I am working with a Haas SL-30 and running the same type of programing as the trak and getting terrible results! The machine was purchased used and had to be repared/serviced when it arrived. No visible damage, but I was told the headstock and turret were re-alligned. We tried a LOT of programing variations and it still comes out with chatter. Pretty sad that the other part shown below was cut on a machine half the size and not nearly as robust as the HAAS! Anybody have any thoughts? Dia of pics is .787 about 10.0 long
    Headstock bearings/damage? Turret not locked solidly enough? Tailstock problems? (we tried changing the pressure a few times) I gotta get this figured out cause' this is way too cool not to play with, er, run ! Thanks for your time! Rick
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Lathe1.jpg   Lathe2.jpg   Lathe3.jpg  

I don't think headstock bearings or turret locking have anything to do with that chatter; if it was coming from either of these it would continue all the way up the the end near the chuck.

Try looking at the tool centering; a tool slightly above center, on a rear mounted tool it is below center when you look at it, will often chatter because as the work or tool deflects the cutter gets a litte bit deeper.

A tool slightly below center, again above for a rear tool, will sometimes cut much smoother.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.