586,094 active members*
3,926 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Phase Converters > Error 14-How to reset?/or is my VFD toast now.... ?

Error 14-How to reset?/or is my VFD toast now.... ?

Using Hitachi SJ200 VFD. Sorry I am new to all this. The spindle iis not running. Using a 2hp IH mill.

The break out board is still letting the mill to X and Y, and Z. However getting an error 15 message. Attempted to reset VFD back to default.

B084 and up arrow to 01 however it would not show 01 it showed 00. After pressing up,down,stl,reset combo or whatever the VFD did not reset. still getting error 14.

I discovered a lose washer that held the conduit to the motor in the motor panel. Looked like it had a burn mark on it. Thinking that it might have shorted out the VFD or motor.

Also took off ALL the wires to the motor and smaller wires, and just left on the power wires. to see if there is a short somewhere going to the motor. However still error 14 even with the wires not connected.

Is this VFD toast? Is there a way to reset it, a fuse or something?

Advise needed thanks..

Rich

What does your documentation say error 14 means?

ground fault

means ground fault= the inverter is protected by the detection of ground faults between the inverter output and the motor upon during powerup tests.

a short? remember i got all the wires disconected and its still giving the error

With the VFD off and nothing connected to the 3ph out, test resistance to ground from each terminal, you could have blown a switching device etc.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    With the VFD off and nothing connected to the 3ph out, test resistance to ground from each terminal, you could have blown a switching device etc.
    Al.