586,745 active members*
6,170 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

mosfet basics

As a newbie I am still trying to understand schematics and mosfets.You can find endless technical info on the web but I just want to know how do I hook up an N channel enhancement mode mosfet? From the schematic I uploaded is this right?
    I need two power sources.One fairly small (power source 1) to supply voltage to control the gate with it's positive going to the gate and it's negative going to the source and to the negative of power source 2.
    Then power source 2's positve go's to the drain.
    Then take the positive from the drain and go to the positive of whatever I want to drive like a motor ect. and the negative from the source and go the negative of the motor.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails mosfet.jpg  

The two voltage sources are shown for explanation purposes, in practice the voltage sources can be one common one where whatever is driving the gate shares the same supply with the drain load side, or an example of separate supplies would be where the gate is driven by a 5v TTL circuit and the drain load fed from a 24v DC supply, the commons of both supplies connected together.
    In your circuit, the drain load would be inserted where the black arrow is shown.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.