586,069 active members*
3,720 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123
Results 1 to 20 of 60

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    39

    Drilling problem - machine crash

    Hi Guys

    I'd appreciate if someone with experience of tormach / g-code could cast their eye over this.

    I have done drilling operations before with no issues but this has me stumped.

    Scenario - step 4 of a program (I'm having to run them individually as the ATC is offline).

    1 to 3 work fine, All tools are correctly measured and offset.

    Then this simple drilling operation is run. In this case the drill is driven deep beside the work for no reason I can see. Then dragged into the side of the work (snap) and across to the start point of the hole. The chuck then raises and the program works as I would expect it to. Then it slams back down far too deep into the work.

    The code was created in Fusion 360 and the simulation runs fine. The post processsor has not changed. The machine has been updated to 2.7.3 but I rolled it back to 2.7.2 and it still does the same thing.

    I"d appreciate any insights !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    49

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    According to this article
    The G98 and G99 G Codes
    The G98 and G99 G Codes
    Here is this program explained line by line

    Z15.0 M08;

    First, we bring the drill down to 15mm above the surface of the material and turn on the coolant with M08

    G82 G99 Z-4.0 R1.0 P500 F50.0;

    This line sets our counterbore canned cycle by using G82 and sets the movement to our hole with G99, this tells the machine that once the first hole is drilled to retract to the R1.0 value and not the Z15.0 set by the line above.
    The Z-4.0 is the depth of the counterbore
    The P500 value is the dwell time that is set to 500 milliseconds that will take place once the drill has reached the bottom of the hole.
    F is our feed rate in mm/min.

    X20.0;

    This is the distance from the first hole to the second along the X axis, it is taken as an incremental move and can include a Y movement and an optional Z depth if the depth of the hole differs from the first. The G99 code is still active from the line above so the drill will retract to 1.0mm above the surface as defined by the R value.

    G98 X40.0;

    This line drills our third hole 40mm in the plus direction along the X axis. It retracts to Z15.0 above the surface of the part after drilling the previous hole. The G98 code tells the control that we wish to ignore the retract value of 1mm that we defined by R in our canned cycle line and to return to the Z15.0 distance. Safely above our clamp.

    G99 X20.0;

    The final hole is drilled 20mm in X from the last hole, the G99 code tells the machine to retract back to the R position and not the Z position.

    G80;

    The G80 command is the G Code we use to tell the control that the canned cycle has ended.

    It is common to make the mistake of putting the G98/G99 on the wrong line. An easy way to remember it is that we add it to the hole position after the obstacle and not on the hole position before.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    218

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Nothing is jumping out at me. Are you sure your tool length is properly set? Are you using the right work offset? Can you share the entire program instead of just the drill op?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by oldlock View Post
    Hi Guys

    I'd appreciate if someone with experience of tormach / g-code could cast their eye over this.

    I have done drilling operations before with no issues but this has me stumped.

    Scenario - step 4 of a program (I'm having to run them individually as the ATC is offline).

    1 to 3 work fine, All tools are correctly measured and offset.

    Then this simple drilling operation is run. In this case the drill is driven deep beside the work for no reason I can see. Then dragged into the side of the work (snap) and across to the start point of the hole. The chuck then raises and the program works as I would expect it to. Then it slams back down far too deep into the work.

    The code was created in Fusion 360 and the simulation runs fine. The post processsor has not changed. The machine has been updated to 2.7.3 but I rolled it back to 2.7.2 and it still does the same thing.

    I"d appreciate any insights !
    What's the G30 for is this your control requirement???

    Header has code that can cancel your tool offsets

    G90 G54 G64 G50 G17 G40 G80 G94 G91.1 G49

    This is all you need in the header

    G90 G17G40G80

    G90 is only needed in the header if you don't have it in your program
    G49 can cancel your tool offset in some controls

    Your post processor is of poor design

    Really need to see the whole program to see where the real problem is
    Mactec54

  5. #5

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    What's the G30 for is this your control requirement???

    Header has code that can cancel your tool offsets

    G90 G54 G64 G50 G17 G40 G80 G94 G91.1 G49

    This is all you need in the header

    G90 G17G40G80

    G90 is only needed in the header if you don't have it in your program
    G49 can cancel your tool offset in some controls

    Your post processor is of poor design

    Really need to see the whole program to see where the real problem is
    the processor is a turd . g30 is return home which is handy when hand bombing tools . A G64P#### is also important to have in the header but not necessary in this case

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by metalmayhem View Post
    the processor is a turd . g30 is return home which is handy when hand bombing tools . A G64P#### is also important to have in the header but not necessary in this case
    Yes that is obvious, what is the G64P#### used for that you would want it in the header

    G30 why would you want your machine to return to home at the start of a program is this what they have you do with PP control or just a goofy Post processor
    Mactec54

  7. #7

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    you can go with a g53 or just return home g30 , nothing goofy about it if a tool change may be needed . it doesn't necessarily have to been in the header but it doesn't hurt anything either
    G64 is toolpath control the p value is a tolerance , I punch g64p.001 into all my headers . I've had pathpilot do some funky stuff without the tolerance added

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by metalmayhem View Post
    you can go with a g53 or just return home g30 , nothing goofy about it if a tool change may be needed . it doesn't necessarily have to been in the header but it doesn't hurt anything either
    G64 is toolpath control the p value is a tolerance , I punch g64p.001 into all my headers . I've had pathpilot do some funky stuff without the tolerance added
    Neither a G53 or a G30 is required at the start of any program

    You don't need a G30 because you are going to do a Tool Change, as soon as a Tool is called T26 in his case the Z axis will move to the tool change position
    Mactec54

  9. #9

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    as soon as a Tool is called T26 in his case the Z axis will move to the tool change position
    with atc yes , without atc no

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    591

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    with atc yes , without atc no
    In PathPilot, any M06 (too change) macro will move the spindle to the G30 height, even if you don't have the ATC.

  11. #11

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by jwatte View Post
    In PathPilot, any M06 (too change) macro will move the spindle to the G30 height, even if you don't have the ATC.
    I haven't done anything to the macro and none of mine move to g30 on an m06 call , which is why I have my cam post a g30

  12. #12

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    something I missed with that code was g30 is alone which is goofy
    I automatically think g30z0

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1573

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    ...is it just me or is this normal format of a program that F360 produces? Why would they put the G43 H26 on the same Line as the TC and before calling the Workoffsets? Also, should have G49 H0D0 at the end of each Tool. Very sloppy programming looks like to me.

    %
    (1005)
    (Machine)
    ( vendor Autodesk)
    ( description Generic 3-axis)
    (T26 D=5. CR=0. TAPER=118deg - ZMIN=-15.5 - drill)
    G90 G54 G64 G50 G17 G40 G80 G94 G91.1 G49
    G21 (Metric)
    G30

    N10(Drill5 3)
    T26 G43 H26 M6
    S5000 M3 M8
    G54
    G0 X17.214 Y27.
    G0 Z15.
    G0 Z5.
    G98 G81 X17.214 Y27. Z-15.5 R2.5 F1000.
    X-17.1
    G80
    G0 Z15.
    M5 M9

    G30
    M30
    %

  14. #14

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    ...is it just me or is this normal format of a program that F360 produces? Why would they put the G43 H26 on the same Line as the TC and before calling the Workoffsets? Also, should have G49 H0D0 at the end of each Tool. Very sloppy programming looks like to me.

    %
    (1005)
    (Machine)
    ( vendor Autodesk)
    ( description Generic 3-axis)
    (T26 D=5. CR=0. TAPER=118deg - ZMIN=-15.5 - drill)
    G90 G54 G64 G50 G17 G40 G80 G94 G91.1 G49
    G21 (Metric)
    G30

    N10(Drill5 3)
    T26 G43 H26 M6
    S5000 M3 M8
    G54
    G0 X17.214 Y27.
    G0 Z15.
    G0 Z5.
    G98 G81 X17.214 Y27. Z-15.5 R2.5 F1000.
    X-17.1
    G80
    G0 Z15.
    M5 M9

    G30
    M30
    %
    it's a pretty bad format , plus it's poor to have 2 m codes on the same line

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1788

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    ...is it just me or is this normal format of a program that F360 produces? Why would they put the G43 H26 on the same Line as the TC and before calling the Workoffsets? Also, should have G49 H0D0 at the end of each Tool.
    I'm certainly not a gcode expert but I don't understand your criticisms. The H26 is redundant but what is the problem with putting the G43 on the same line as the tool change? Keeping them together is, in my opinion, just good programming style. Why is it required (or even desirable for that matter) to include a G49? Won't the G43 on the next tool change change the offset?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1573

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    [QUOTE=kstrauss;2449352]
    The H26 is redundant but what is the problem with putting the G43 on the same line as the tool change?
    no problem if, the machine can handle the Code on the same Line.
    Why is it required (or even desirable for that matter) to include a G49?
    good practice safe block G49H0D0.
    Won't the G43 on the next tool change change the offset?
    yes, but what happens if the Operator does something in between Tool changes in MDI and does not realize a Tool Comp is active still.

    Murphy's Law

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1788

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    I hesitate to mention that this message board is solely devoted to Tormach controllers so whether a another controller works differently (or fails to handle a particular command) is irrelevant. In that vein, the operator cannot issue MDI commands "between tool changes".

    In my opinion values should not be given in two places for the same thing -- that only results in errors. Hence, NEVER use H? to specify the default tool used by G43.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    ...is it just me or is this normal format of a program that F360 produces? Why would they put the G43 H26 on the same Line as the TC and before calling the Workoffsets? Also, should have G49 H0D0 at the end of each Tool. Very sloppy programming looks like to me.

    %
    (1005)
    (Machine)
    ( vendor Autodesk)
    ( description Generic 3-axis)
    (T26 D=5. CR=0. TAPER=118deg - ZMIN=-15.5 - drill)
    G90 G54 G64 G50 G17 G40 G80 G94 G91.1 G49
    G21 (Metric)
    G30

    N10(Drill5 3)
    T26 G43 H26 M6
    S5000 M3 M8
    G54
    G0 X17.214 Y27.
    G0 Z15.
    G0 Z5.
    G98 G81 X17.214 Y27. Z-15.5 R2.5 F1000.
    X-17.1
    G80
    G0 Z15.
    M5 M9

    G30
    M30
    %
    Because these guys that wrote this post processors are programmer's and have no machine experience or what is a correct G-Code format should look like
    Mactec54

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1788

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    Because these guys that wrote this post processors are programmer's and have no machine experience or what is a correct G-Code format should look like
    Is there a style guide for gcode? Where do I find it?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: Drilling problem - machine crash

    Quote Originally Posted by kstrauss View Post
    Is there a style guide for gcode? Where do I find it?
    The best Style Format is standard Fanuc there are variations of this format for slight changes, that different manufactures use in there controls But the basic's are the same, this is very much industry standard that all controls use

    For hobby guys anything that works for them is what they use, then when a crash happens they don't know what to do be cause it looks right to them, keep it simple Here is a simple format that will work on most machines, you just add or change this format which is simple and easy to see where you can make a change to how ever you want it to work for you

    Keep it simple is best as it is easy to see if you have a problem some where

    %
    ( O1503 Drill Mag Block )
    G17G40G80
    ( could put your G30 Here if you needed it Tormach only or anyone using PP Can use a G0Z---- also )
    T4M6
    M8
    G54
    S2250M3
    G90G0X1.75Y-.384
    G43Z.1H4
    G83G98X1.75Y-.384Z-.4276R.1Q.03F8.
    X1.375Y-.216
    X1.Y-.384
    X.625Y-.216
    X.25Y-.384
    G80G0Z3. ( Canned cycle Canceled Z moves up 3 inches )
    M9
    M5
    G53Y0. ( This can be used with X as well and any number where you want your table to move too when your job is complete )
    M30
    %
    Mactec54

Page 1 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. Tool release problem after crash
    By mattfurches in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 10-03-2012, 06:36 PM
  2. 3 axis TB6560 crash problem's ?????
    By gothdragon in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-24-2010, 08:51 PM
  3. Help with CNC Lathe Turret Problem after crash
    By qualitymachine in forum DNC Problems and Solutions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2009, 02:52 PM
  4. Tool Crash During Simulation Problem
    By Cartierusm in forum Dolphin CAD/CAM
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-29-2009, 08:09 PM
  5. TOOL CHANGE PROBLEM AFTER CRASH
    By roadking in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-24-2009, 02:55 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •