586,104 active members*
3,363 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

DIY Vacuum Box Question

Hi all, newbie here - so many forums, not sure I'm posting this in the right place...

I'm getting my first CNC, and need to build a vacuum hold down system for some small scale production work, mainly cutting thin acrylic sheet. I've been researching for a while now, and bought two vacuum motors to build a DIY system. Hold down will only be 24"x48". Many of the designs I've seen include enclosing the vacuum motors in a box, but I've also seen some versions that simply have the motors mounted out in the open. Is enclosing them in a box really necessary? Is it for sound, or fire safety, or? Most of what I read is about getting fresh air to the motors and keeping them cool, which would suggest not enclosing them in a box would be ideal? I will be be able to pass my dust collection and vacuum hold down pipes through a wall, and house the loud motors in a sort of open loft space, outside my work area, so noise is less of a concern. Trying to keep things simple, if possible. I've seen a couple posts mention the Gary Campbell DIY design, but I can't seem to locate the original thread for that vacuum box, or any plans for it. Looking for a little tutelage - thanks so much for the help.

Best, Peter

Re: DIY Vacuum Box Question

Did a quick look and the Gary Campbell system looks to be just for noise, while allowing a large flow of air for cooling. If you are going to put them in a different room I would just let them run in the open.

I have use my shop vac for a hold down in the past. and the noise gets pretty annoying even with headphones on.

've seen a couple posts mention the Gary Campbell DIY design, but I can't seem to locate the original thread for that vacuum box, or any plans for it. Looking for a little tutelage
    It's on ShopBot's forum.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset