586,106 active members*
3,204 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > 9'X5.5' Router table - Build Blog...

9'X5.5' Router table - Build Blog...

Just started my build last week - I dont have much time to work on it with kids and work and all but this is what i have done in roughly 5 days. Any input would be appreciated greatly- Im just a newbie but we all have to start somewhere.

I have the gecko drives ordered - I went with the G340's.

I am planning to drive the x- axis with 2 850/oz servos from homeshopcnc- i ordered one motor so far just to mess around with untill i get it all assembled - i got the 500cpr encoder but i think after learning more i should have gotten the 250 instead.

I ordered the rack from mcmaster carr - it is 20degree pa - 20pitch 7teeth per inch - i will be mounting that very soon.

I ordered the linear slides from nook industries - it is the NH25TA with 2 blocks per side with scrapers - C5 precision - T0 preload - hopefully this was a good choice..... I was initially looking at linear rails with full support but the sales guy said these would be a better choice and pretty much the same price point.

I am trying to figure out what reduction to use with these servo motors - I am setting this table up for plasma and routing, anything from foam to aluminum. Hopefully someone could point me in a good direction as to what gearing to use... I was thinking 3:1 or 4:1 but im not sure if i would get high enough feed rate +600/min. there has to be a calculation??

Anyways, it would be great to hear any ideas from all the veterans- If it wasn't for this site with all of the knowledgeable people here i would have never thought this was possible. Thank you everyone