510,139 active members
3,425 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Modify Mastercam MPFAN post
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 16
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    44

    Modify Mastercam MPFAN post

    Hi,

    I have a AB 9/240 controller on a EXCELLO verticle mill and need to modify the MPFAN postprocessor that Mastercam supplies you with.

    Can someone walk me through some mods I need?? Or is it too difficult?? I have tried numerous times with no success..

    Such things like I have no line numbers.. Can't find where you would put them in.

    I have posted this in the POST forum also..

    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    Line numbers are a switch. Look for
    Code:
    omitseq     : 1     #Omit sequence no.
    and change it to 0 instead of 1

    Lots of the basic stuff is right there, just switches you toggle on or off. There's pretty good descriptions of what they do with them.

    Feel free to as any other questions you might have, I've got MP running thru meh veins.

    'Rekd
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    44
    Rekd, I tried to switch the yes/no statement to a "1". I still get no line numbers.. Not even the begining "N". If I put in a "0" I get "N0" at the begining of each line.. I also tried other numbers with the same results... No line numbers, just coordinates..

    I guess I need to get that CD from my dealer..


    Thanks again for any help..

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    What version of MC? Can you send me a copy of the post and a copy of the code THE WAY YOU WANT IT?
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    BTW, omitsiq = NO does leave them turned on. You might try just commenting out that whole line. (Put a pound sign in front of it.. " # " )

    'Rekd
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    44
    Yes, I will send you a copy of the post and a copy of my program the way I would like it..


    Thanks again
    pete

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    Your welcome.
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    44
    Should I post it here?? Or send email??

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    Send it mail, I want the complete post so I can run it thru my machine. I'll post what I find here.
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1876
    You should be all set with this, Pete. Open your post and change this line

    Code:
    seqmax      : 2  #Max. sequence number
    To this.

    Code:
    seqmax      : 9999  #Max. sequence number
    Make sure you leave "omitseq" set @ "0"
    I posted a file right from the original post and got

    N1
    N2
    N1
    N2
    etc.

    By changing "seqmax" to 9999 it will go from N1 to N9999 then restart at N1 again. If your controller supports more/less than that, you can change it.

    Also, read thru the text towards the top of the post, it may guide you to making more simple changes. Just back up your original first.

    HTH, and if you have more ?'s or !'s let me know.

    'Rekd
    Matt
    San Diego, Ca

    ___ o o o_
    [l_,[_____],
    l---L - □lllllll□-
    ( )_) ( )_)--)_)

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    44
    Rekd,

    I did exactly as you said and no dice.. I went back to the original MPFAN.PST and guess what.. No line numbers.. All I get is..

    N0 X???
    N0 Y??
    N0..Z??



    The settings in my original MPFAN post are just what you told me to do to my modified post..

    "seqmax : 9999 #Max. sequence number"

    Think maybe something else is wrong??

    Thanks again for all your time and patience
    Pete

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    44
    Oh ya this is located in the "general output settings" paragraph correct??

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Faqnuc 11M Post for Mastercam 9
    By Moparmatty in forum Post Processor Files
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-28-2017, 08:08 AM
  2. Emco Compact 5 PC...have ????
    By Double G in forum Mini Lathe
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 12:26 AM
  3. Upgrading control hardware - Emco
    By eDudlik in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 07:52 AM
  4. BOSS 5 Post processor for Mastercam
    By bbuonomo in forum Post Processor Files
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 06:11 PM
  5. Mastercam post to Kellyware Kcam??
    By gcamlibel in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2004, 05:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •