586,119 active members*
3,697 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Education - Teachers and Students Hangout > Looking to retrofit and upgrade Spectralight cnc

Looking to retrofit and upgrade Spectralight cnc

I am a middle school Tech Ed teacher, I have a Spectralight CNC mill and lathe that are on their last legs. I even used the machines when I was a student, now that I am a teacher at the same school it is time for some updating!
    Currently the mill has stopped running. The spindle motor won't power on and the software is running on an old IBM computer. I am looking to upgrade on a tight budget. A new pc card will run me $1000 and there is no guarantee the machine will even work.
    Any suggestions?
    I see alot of posts on new stepper motors but not much on spindles.

Hi! I'm not 100%, but I thought the spectralight machines were essentially rebadged Sherline machines? www.sherline.com sells replacement parts for their machines. I think you can buy a new spindle and controller there. Stepper motors are fairly cheap from ebay (keling 280 oz-in motors are decent) and they also sell stepper motor drivers. Hobbycnc and xylotex drivers are also popular. I wouldn't pay $1000 for a new pc card.

Sherline CNC with Linux

Well, I am considering going with the Spectra CNC upgrade with the Linux software, though I am unsure how well the Linux software will work for Middle school students. Any suggestions?

I'm not familiar with the Spectra cnc upgrade. I'm guessing the Linux software would be EMC2 (www.linuxcnc.org) which you can download along with Ubuntu Linux. I've got an old PC with Linux and EMC2 which is running a Taig mill. It works great! Ubuntu Linux should be fine for your students. If they can use Windows they should be able to use Linux.

I guess I should have asked if you wanted a plug and play solution or are you wanting to upgrade the machine yourself or as a class project.

Hummm