586,068 active members*
3,739 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Part Adhesives

Hello forum,

I work at a place that uses a lot of plastics (.0625”-1.0”) for custom brackets and gears. I'm currently looking for some way to fixate my part and eliminate lifting. I'm open to any suggestions…this problem may be due to wrong tooling or something, I really don't know. I'm new to this profession. I'm currently using double-sided carpet seeming tape, but it is extremely expensive and it gums up the bits and the part. Any suggestions would be grateful. Thank you.

Most anything can be clamped down, it's tried and true. Use some imagination.

Have you looked into using vacuum clamping? Check out this link http://www.nemi.com/square_slider_pod.htm They have some great ideas. If you make the same pieces over and over you could make some special jigs for each.

Dan

I had considered vacuum for myself but discarded the idea because I am primarily a wood guy. Good for a smooth, non porous area though.
    Having used vacuum to hold parts on my robots at work I have much experience with such. The major problem is that although it may lift a 50 Lb. part any jerking motion and the part tends to slide off. If you use the vacuum to hold the part down then provide some dowel pins or other mechanical means you may have something.
    Vacuum generators are very easy to make, using compressed air as the power source.

Another Idea

Most of the parts I make are in wood. I use drywall shim (gray cardboard) sprayed on both sides with 3-M spray glue to attach the workpiece to the sacrificial board. A small tap with a chisel separates the laminations when the cut is finished.

Removing the remaining cardboard from the workpiece is easy. Dab on some mineral spirits with a brush and about 30 seconds later it peels right off. The remaining sticky residue can be cleaned off with a small amount of mineral spirits on a rag.