586,123 active members*
3,263 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Fun lathe only projects

I have my lathe but no milling machine yet. I am looking for some cool projects that can be done on a lathe and drill press only. Not too complex as I am still learning. What do you think?

Eric
    I wish it wouldn't crash.

pens, lamps, flashlights, telescope parts(if you're into that).......what sort of interests do you have? how big of a lathe do you have? Right now i'm actually making modifcations to my lathe using my lathe.....my lathe will be used for telescope parts, cnc parts, bow/arrow mods, etc.

Pick a hobby or something that interests you and try to think of ways a lathe can be used to expand or improve that hobby.

Balsaman,
    Same as TyRex, I spent a lot of time making mods to the lathe. Some necessary and some just because I wanted to. I think for me one of the most satisfying was to make a custom fit (to MY hand) file handle. The directions for measuring your hand can be found in one of Guy Lautard's "Machinist's Bedside Reader" which you probably already have. I don't remember what he made them out of but I made mine from aluminum with a brass ferrell and it fits my had great. Now it's almost a pleasure to use a file, at least my hand doesn't get so tired when I have to do it. I only have two of the "Bedside Readers" but will get the third soon. They have a lot of info on making things like you are talking about.

Marv

P.S. Congratulations on your lathe and nice review.

Ah, i see you have an 8x12.......

Here's a nice site with a little info on what Dan Kautz does with his.... http://www.tedatum.com/thms/index.html

Pssst, there aren't any cool lathe projects. The lathe is just to prepare the blanks for the mill to use for the cool projects
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)