586,117 active members*
3,414 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Prospects of CNC for grizzly knee mill

Hi, i'm a noob looking for a good mill that i might CNC in the future. I came accross a grizzly knee mill on sale for $1800 including shipping (which is the absolute maximum that i am willing to spend on a mill), but could not find any reviews on that model. If anyone has any thoughts on it I would greatly appreciate it.

http://www.grizzly.com/products/item...emNumber=G3102
    I don't want to achieve immortality through my work. I want to achieve it through not dying.
    -Woody Allen

It looks like a nice mill and grizzly is a pretty good brand. But do you really need something that big? I mean it's not big compared to the cincinati manual mill that I use at work but what would be it's intended purpose? The other thing is that when you do retrofit it you'll have to be looking at how to eliminate the backlash if you want to try and figure it out in the software or if you want to convert it to ballscrews or somekind of preloaded nut. If I were looking at a manual mill this would be an option but for a CNC conversion, I might think twice. This is just my opion, I think you might want to decide what you want to make first and then spend the bucks. The other thing is looking for used equipmnet, such as a bridgport series 1, it's all on what you want to do.

Carl

SpunkRat: I'm just finishing off a Retrofit

It's not for the faint hearted trust me on this .

If you have any questions please ask I'm happy to help out if I can.